We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The scholar

by McTiernan, Dervla,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 12 of 16 copies
Available (12)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library New Fiction MYSTERY McTiernan
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Call Number  MYSTERY McTiernan
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction FICTION McTiernan
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION McTiernan
 
 
CLP - East Liberty New Books FICTION McTiernan
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION McTiernan
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION McTiernan
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION McTiernan
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Mystery M McT
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  M McT
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction MYS MCT
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  MYS MCT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Mystery MCTIERNAN DERVLA
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MCTIERNAN DERVLA
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC MCTIERNA
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC MCTIERNA
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction F MCT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MCT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction NEW pbk MCTIERNAN
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  NEW pbk MCTIERNAN
 
 
South Park Library Mystery F-M MCTIERNA
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  F-M MCTIERNA
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction THRILLER McTIERNAN Dervla
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Call Number  THRILLER McTIERNAN Dervla
 
 
 
Unavailable (4)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Mystery Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Mystery Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
From the author of The Ruin comes a compulsive new crime thriller set in the fiercely competitive, cutthroat world of research and academia, where the brightest minds will stop at nothing to succeed.

When Dr. Emma Sweeney stumbles across the victim of a hit-and-run outside Galway University early one morning, she calls her boyfriend, Detective Cormac Reilly, bringing him first to the scene of a murder that would otherwise never have been assigned to him. The dead girl is carrying an ID that will put this crime at the center of a scandal--her card identifies her as Carline Darcy, heir apparent to Darcy Therapeutics, Ireland's most successful pharmaceutical company. Darcy Therapeutics has a finger in every pie, from sponsoring university research facilities to funding political parties to philanthropy--it has even funded Emma's own ground-breaking research.

As the murder investigation twists in unexpected ways and Cormac's running of the case comes under scrutiny from the department and his colleagues, he is forced to question himself and the beliefs that he has long held as truths. Who really is Emma? And who is Carline Darcy?

A gripping and atmospheric follow-up to The Ruin , an "expertly plotted, complex web of secrets that refuse to stay hidden" (Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter ), The Scholar is perfect for fans of Tana French and Flynn Berry.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In this follow-up to McTiernan's 2018 debut, The Ruin, Galway police detective Cormac Reilly is sidelined from a high-profile investigation because his girlfriend, Dr. Emma Sweeney, was the one who found the body. Emma works at a pharmaceutical lab on the town's university grounds. At first, the police think that the hit-and-run victim she discovered is Carline Darcy, the granddaughter of the lab's rich and powerful founder. Further investigation reveals that the victim was a biochemical genius who dropped out of the university after only a semester. The Garda need to figure out why she was back on campus and why she had Carline's ID in her pocket when she was killed. Fans of Irish cop novels, like those by Adrian McKinty, will be happy to discover this up-and-coming author.--Karen Keefe Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In McTiernan's solid second police procedural featuring Galway's Det. Cormac Reilly (after 2018's The Ruin), Reilly's girlfriend, Emma Sweeney, a lab researcher for Darcy Therapeutics, calls him when she discovers the body of student Carline Darcy, a rising research star in the lab and the granddaughter of the company head, on the road near their workplace, the victim of a hit-and-run. In the subsequent inquiry into what develops into a murder case, departmental rivals of Emma, who suspect that she is somehow involved in Carline's death, try to push Reilly off the case. Meanwhile, the lab principals impede the investigation. Though the characters nearest to Carline are a bit too stereotyped, and the solution to the mystery is telegraphed too soon, the complexities of the relationships within the department, and the tensions between Reilly and Emma, are rich enough to carry the reader through this story and into the next one. McTiernan's cautionary tale about money, prestige, and the secretive world of pharmaceutical research will resonate with many. Agent: Faye Bender, Book Group. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Cormac Reilly series
#1 - The Ruin
#2 - The Scholar
Subjects Pharmaceutical industry -- Fiction.
Women scientists -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Galway (Ireland) -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Language English
Description 362 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780143133698
0143133691
Other Classic View