The book woman of Troublesome Creek : a novel

by Richardson, Kim Michele,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 42 copies
1 person on waitlist
Unavailable (42)
Location Collection Status
ACLA Mobile Library Services Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Andrew Carnegie Free Library New Adult IN TRANSIT
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  New Adult
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Brentwood Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Brookline Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Carrick Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Downtown First Floor - Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Downtown
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg Historical Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  Historical Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction CLMS RETD
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  CLMS RETD
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction MISSING
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  MISSING
 
 
North Versailles Public Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books LOST AND PAID
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  LOST AND PAID
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Penn Hills Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Plum Community Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Springdale Free Public Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Historical IN TRANSIT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Historical
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library New Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library - Eastridge
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
A USA TODAY BESTSELLER
A LOS ANGELES TIMES BESTSELLER
AN OKRA PICK

The bestselling historical fiction from Kim Michele Richardson, this is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of Lee Smith and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything--everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt's Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome's got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy's not only a book woman, however, she's also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy's family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she's going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachias and suspicion as deep as the holler.

Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creekis a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman's belief that books can carry us anywhere--even back home.

"This gem of a historical from Richardson features an indomitable heroine navigating a community steeped in racial intolerance...Readers will adore the memorable Cussy and appreciate Richardson's fine rendering of rural Kentucky life." --Publishers Weekly

Other Bestselling Historical Fiction from Sourcebooks Landmark:
The Only Woman in the Roomby Marie Benedict
The Mystery of Mrs. Christieby Marie Benedict
The Engineer's Wifeby Tracey Enerson Wood
Sold on a Mondayby Kristina McMorris

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Cussy Mary Carter knows no one will want to marry her with her blue skin, a rare hereditary condition sometimes found in the mountains of Kentucky. She prefers it that way, since a married woman cannot work for the WPA, and being a Pack Horse librarian is the one light in her lonely, hardscrabble life. But her coal-miner father wants Cussy to be taken care of, which leads to a disastrous, mercifully brief marriage. Now the Widow Frazier though she prefers what her young patrons call her, the Book Woman is free to deliver scant reading materials to the most remote hollows of Troublesome Creek. Though Richardson's latest (after The Sisters of Glass Ferry, 2017) is essentially about the power of reading and libraries, it also explores the extreme rural poverty of 1930s Appalachia and labor unrest among coal miners. Readers will respond to quiet Cussy's steel spine as she undergoes cruel medical tests to ""cure"" her blueness, and book groups who like to explore lesser-known aspects of American history will be fascinated.--Susan Maguire Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "This gem of a historical from Richardson (The Sisters of Glass Ferry) features an indomitable heroine navigating a community steeped in racial intolerance. In 1936, 19-year-old Cussy Mary Carter works for the New Deal-funded Pack Horse Library Project, delivering reading material to the rural people of Kentucky. It's a way of honoring her dead mother, who loved books, and it almost makes her forget the fact that her skin is blue, a family trait that sets her apart from the white community. The personable and dedicated Cussy forges friendships through her job, including with handsome farmer Jackson Lovett, who becomes Cussy's love interest. Cussy's ailing coal miner father, Elijah, insists she marry, but the elderly husband he finds for her, Charlie Frazier, dies on their wedding night. Pastor Vester Frazier, a vengeful relative, blames Cussy for Charlie's death and starts stalking her. The local doctor steps in to help, and Cussy repays Doc by letting him perform medical tests on her to learn the cause of her blue skin. A potential cure for Cussy's blue skin and a surprise marriage proposal set in motion a final quarrel among the townspeople over segregation laws that threatens Cussy's chance at happiness. Though the ending is abrupt and some historical information feels clumsily inserted, readers will adore the memorable Cussy and appreciate Richardson's fine rendering of rural Kentucky life. Agent: Stacy Testa, Writers House. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Packhorse librarians -- Kentucky -- Fiction.
Kentucky -- History -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher Naperville, Illinois :2019
Language English
Notes Includes author's note, reading group guide, and conversation with the author.
Description 308 pages : illustrations, maps ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781492691631
1492691631
9781492671527
1492671525
Other Classic View