The sound of drowning

by Fleet, Katherine,

Format: Print Book [2019]
Availability: Available at 3 Libraries 3 of 5 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library New Young Adult YOUNG ADULT Fleet
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Young Adult
 
Call Number  YOUNG ADULT Fleet
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Teen New Books Y FLEET KATHERINE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Teen New Books
 
Call Number  Y FLEET KATHERINE
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Young Adult Fiction YAF FLEET
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  YAF FLEET
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Moon Township Public Library Young Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Young Adult New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
An emotional, twisty, and compulsively readable story about love, loss, and picking up the pieces. Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Emery Lord.Meredith Hall has a secret. Every night, she takes the ferry to meet Ben-her best friend and first love-who she has a second chance with. Though their relationship must remain a secret, Mer's determined to make it work. She lost Ben once before and discovered the awful reality: she doesn't know how to be happy without him.Until Wyatt washes ashore-a brash new guy with a Texas twang and a personality bigger than his home state. He makes her feel reckless, excited, and alive in ways that cut through her perpetual gloom. The deeper they delve into each other's pasts, the more Wyatt's charms become impossible to ignore.But a storm is brewing in the Outer Banks. When it hits, Mer will find her heart tearing in half and her carefully constructed reality slipping back into the surf. She'll soon discover that even the most deeply buried secrets have a way of surfacing, and as they do, she'll have to come to grips with the fact that nothing is forever-especially second chances.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Meredith Hall sneaks out almost every night to meet her boyfriend, Ben, on the deserted beach of a tiny island off the North Carolina coast. After she learned she was pregnant with Ben's baby, Mer had an abortion without involving Ben, a decision that led him to break up with her but he forgave her, and they're finding their way back to a healthier (but secret) relationship. The reader will quickly figure out we've got an unreliable narrator, so torn up over recent losses in her life that she has created an alternative world. When she meets new boy Wyatt, Mer starts to feel awake again, but his presence may unsettle her entire world. On the surface, this is a unique love triangle with a confused girl in the middle. The unusual setting (isolated island communities, schools so small the junior class consists of 11 students) and presence of star teen athletes who step away from their sports may intrigue readers, but the primary readership will be those who swoon over a doomed romance.--Debbie Carton Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Teenage girls -- Fiction.
Grief -- Fiction.
North Carolina -- Fiction.
Romance fiction.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher Salem, MA :[2019]
Language English
Description 377 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781624147111
1624147119
Other Classic View