Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Notes from a young Black chef a memoir

by Onwuachi, Kwame,

Format: Kindle Book 2019 2019
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 6 of 8 copies
Available from OverDrive (6)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (2)
Summary
By the time he was twenty-seven years old, Kwame Onwuachi had opened—and closed—one of the most talked about restaurants in America. He had sold drugs in New York and been shipped off to rural Nigeria to "learn respect." He had launched his own catering company with twenty thousand dollars made from selling candy on the subway and starred on Top Chef. Through it all, Onwuachi's love of food and cooking remained a constant, even when, as a young chef, he was forced to grapple with just how unwelcoming the food world can be for people of color. In this inspirational memoir about the intersection of race, fame, and food, he shares the remarkable story of his culinary coming-of-age; a powerful, heartfelt, and shockingly honest account of chasing your dreams—even when they don't turn out as you expected.
Contents
Standing on stories
Egusi stew
Dominoes
Ancestors
The block
Gulf state
Finding my craft
CIA man
Blood on the eggshells
From old guard to start up
Angles
The jewel
The lesson.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "The path to success and celebrity in the restaurant world never runs smoothly, and for people of color, that journey can be even more fraught. Top Chef veteran Onwuachi became obsessed with food and cooking at a young age. His Bronx apartment building teemed with immigrants. Whenever he sniffed some new aroma, he'd prowl halls on all floors until he could track down just whose kitchen was concocting such heady perfumes. Raised between New York and Nigeria, his father's homeland, Onwuachi was exposed at an early age to some of the food world's diversity. The Culinary Institute of America gave him a rigorous education. Apprenticing in some of the world's most acclaimed kitchens, he eventually launched a catering business before starting his own restaurant, working his way through several failures before success. Onwuachi concludes each chapter with a recipe, in one case, a straightforward cheesecake; in another, a Nigerian egusi stew summoning ingredients readers will likely have to seek out online or in specialty shops.--Mark Knoblauch Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Chef and former Top Chef contestant Onwuachi wonderfully chronicles the amazing arc of his life, beginning with his challenging Bronx childhood in the 1990s with his African-American mother and his absentee Nigerian father. As a teen he began dealing drugs, and was later sent to Nigeria to live with his grandfather in order to "get out of my mother's hair." He returned to live with his mother, who had moved to Baton Rouge. There, he learned to cook at a local barbecue restaurant and took a job as a cook on an oil-spill response ship in the Gulf of Mexico; he eventually moved back to New York City, where Tom Colicchio hired him at Craft. In 2016, he opened his restaurant Shaw Bijou in Washington, D.C., which for him represented "years of busting my ass, of constant forward movement, of grasping opportunities manufactured to be beyond my grasp." For his customers, he writes, "I had found a way to convert, through food, not just the warmth and love of my upbringing but also the struggles I'd faced." Onwuachi includes Pan-African recipes throughout, inspired by the flavors of the African continent, the Caribbean, and the U.S., such as egusi stew and chicken and waffles. In the vein of Marcus Samuelsson's Yes, Chef, this is a solid and inspiring memoir. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects African American cooking
Cooking, American
Biography & Autobiography
Cooking & Food
Nonfiction
Electronic books.
Cookbooks.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group2019
2019
Contributors Stein, Joshua David, author.
OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781524732639
9781524732639
Other Classic View