Library Catalog may be unavailable due to scheduled maintenance on Monday 7/15 between 10 PM and 2 AM.

The book of dreams : a novel

by George, Nina, 1973-

Format: Large Print [2019]
Availability: Available at 15 Libraries 19 of 34 copies
Available (19)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction FICTION George
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION George
 
 
CLP - Brookline Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Brookline Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Best Sellers FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Best Sellers
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Best Sellers FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Best Sellers
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Best Sellers FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Best Sellers
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Best Sellers FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Best Sellers
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Hill District Large Print FICTION George
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  FICTION George
 
 
CLP - Homewood Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - Knoxville Large Print Books FICTION George
Location  CLP - Knoxville
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION George
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Best Sellers FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Best Sellers
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - South Side Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - South Side Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
CLP - West End Large Print Books FICTION George
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION George
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Best Seller FICTION
NO REQUESTS
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Call Number  FICTION
NO REQUESTS
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Large Print LARGE PRINT Fic George
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LARGE PRINT Fic George
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Large Print LP FIC GEORG
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP FIC GEORG
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Large Print LP F GEO
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP F GEO
 
 
 
Unavailable (15)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Beechview Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Beechview Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Carrick Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Homewood Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Best Sellers IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Best Sellers
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Best Sellers CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Best Sellers
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Best Sellers CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Best Sellers
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Best Seller CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Best Seller
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Large Print CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library Large Print CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library New Book Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  New Book Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (2)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books IN PROCESSING
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary
Warm, wise, and magical--the latest novel by the bestselling author of THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP and THE LITTLE FRENCH BISTRO is an astonishing exploration of the thresholds between life and death

Henri Skinner is a hardened ex-war reporter on the run from his past. On his way to see his son, Sam, for the first time in years, Henri steps into the road without looking and collides with oncoming traffic. He is rushed to a nearby hospital where he floats, comatose, between dreams, reliving the fairytales of his childhood and the secrets that made him run away in the first place.

After the accident, Sam--a thirteen-year old synesthete with an IQ of 144 and an appetite for science fiction--waits by his father's bedside every day. There he meets Eddie Tomlin, a woman forced to confront her love for Henri after all these years, and twelve-year old Madelyn Zeidler, a coma patient like Henri and the sole survivor of a traffic accident that killed her family. As these four very different individuals fight--for hope, for patience, for life--they are bound together inextricably, facing the ravages of loss and first love side by side.

A revelatory, urgently human story that examines what we consider serious and painful alongside light and whimsy, THE BOOK OF DREAMS is a tender meditation on memory, liminality, and empathy, asking with grace and gravitas what we will truly find meaningful in our lives once we are gone.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Henri staggers out of the Thames with a young girl clinging to his neck. He had dived off the Hammersmith Bridge to save her, with a few people looking on mutely. After setting the girl down and dizzily stepping into the road, Henri is thrown into the air by a passing car. His injuries leave him in a coma, completely unresponsive. Sam, Henri's son, and Eddie, Henri's first love, find themselves at Henri's bedside, convinced that they can bring him back to the world of the living. In the depths of the coma unit at one of Britain's top hospitals, where spiritual connection and modern medicine intersect, Henri's loved ones face some of the toughest decisions of their lives. Using detailed flashbacks to keep Henri's memory alive and allowing Henri, Sam, and Eddie to narrate alternating chapters, George (The Little French Bistro, 2017) crafts an empathetic and emotionally stunning novel. Never preachy or maudlin, this deep dive into some of life's most haunting questions will appeal to fans of Isabel Allende and Mary Simses.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "George's captivating novel (after The Little Paris Bookshop) centers on magical bonds between coma patients and their loved ones. Forty-five-year-old ex-war correspondent Henri Skinner is estranged from his 13-year-old son, and after a traffic accident leaves Henri in an induced coma, Sam starts to form something of a relationship with his father. Sam is gifted, intelligent, and synesthetic, blending the sounds of music and voices into shapes and colors, and although he can sometimes sense his father, he usually feels only darkness. He shares his sorrow with Eddie Tomlin, whom Henri had left over two years earlier but inexplicably named as his representative in his living will. Eddie, for her part, can't help loving the complex man who's "always both running away from himself and searching for his true identity." One other person in the hospital captures Sam's heart: 12-year-old Madelyn, a girl who's also in a coma after an accident that killed her family. Meanwhile, Henri and Madelyn are submerged in real and surreal memories of their earlier lives-and their looming deaths-within their comatose minds. This exploration of unfinished relationships has a haunting, evocative quality, and is a perfect, conversation-starting selection for book groups. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Fathers and sons -- Fiction.
Coma -- Patients -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Psychological fiction.
Publisher New York :[2019]
Edition First large print edition.
Other Titles Traumbuch.
Contributors Pare, Simon, translator.
Language English
In English, translated from the German.
Notes Translation of: Das traumbuch.
Description 466 pages (large print) ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781984846761
1984846760
9781635465945
163546594X
Other Classic View