Frederick Ashton The dream ; Symphonic variations ; Marguerite and Armand

Language and/or Subtitles: No linguistic content
Format: DVD 2018
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video (DVD) GV1790.A1 F7425 2018x
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  Second Floor Film & Audio - Nonfiction Video
Call Number  (DVD) GV1790.A1 F7425 2018x
The Royal Ballet performs three works by Frederick Ashton, who had served as the Ballet's principal choreographer and director.
The dream / music, Felix Mendelssohn ; musical arrangement, John Lanchbery ; designer, David Walker ; lighting designer, John B. Read
Symphonic variations / music, César Franck ; designer, Sophie Federovitch ; lighting designer, John B. Read
Marguerite et Armand / music, Franz Liszt ; orchestration, Dudley Simpson ; designer, Cecil Beaton ; lighting designer, John B. Read. Special features: Introduction to "The dream"
Bottom on pointe
Introduction to "Symphonic variations"
Interview with Zenaida Yanowsky.

Additional Information
Subjects Ballets.
Filmed ballets.
Filmed dance.
Dance films.
Publisher London :2018
Edition Widescreen.
Other Titles Dream (Choreographic work : Ashton)
Symphonic variations (Choreographic work : Ashton)
Marguerite and Armand (Choreographic work : Ashton)
Variations symphoniques.
Frederick Ashton
Dream ;
Ashton :
Contributors Ashton, Frederick, 1904-1988, choreographer.
Lanchbery, John, arranger of music.
Simpson, Dudley, 1922-2017, arranger of music.
MacGibbon, Ross, film director.
Takada, Akane, dancer.
McRae, Steven, dancer.
Nuñez, Marianela, dancer.
Muntagirov, Vadim, dancer.
Yanowsky, Zenaida, dancer.
Bolle, Roberto, dancer.
Plasson, Emmanuel, conductor.
Walker, David (Set designer), set designer.
Federovitch, Sophie, set designer.
Beaton, Cecil, 1904-1980, set designer.
Read, John B., lighting designer.
Mendelssohn-Bartholdy, Felix, 1809-1847. Sommernachtstraum.
Franck, César, 1822-1890. Variations symphoniques.
Liszt, Franz, 1811-1886. Sonatas,
Royal Opera House (London, England), production company.
Royal Ballet, performer, production company.
Opus Arte (Firm), publisher.
Participants/Performers The Royal Ballet ; Orchestra of the Royal Opera House ; Emmanuel Plasson, conductor.
The dream: principal dancers, Akane Takada (Titania), Steven McRae (Oberon).
Symphonic variations: principal dancers, Marianela Nuñez, Vadim Muntagirov.
Marguerite and Armand: principal dancers, Zenaida Yanowsky (Marguerite), Roberto Bolle (Armand).
Language No linguistic content
Notes Ballet performance.
Title from container.
Accompanying material may include: 1 booklet (15 pages : illustrations (some color) ; 18 cm).
System Details DVD; NTSC; widescreen presentation; LPCM 2.0, DTS Digital Surround 5.1.
Description 1 videodisc (138 min.) : sound, color ; 4 3/4 in.
Other Classic View