All the flowers in Paris : a novel

by Jio, Sarah,

Format: Print Book [2019]
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 20 copies
1 person on waitlist
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book FIC JIO
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  FIC JIO
 
 
 
Unavailable (19)
Location Collection Status
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Brentwood Library New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - East Liberty New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Historic Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Monroeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Book Stop CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Book Stop
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
South Park Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Historical CHECKED OUT
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Historical
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
"Sarah Jio weaves past and present in this eminently readable novel about love, gratitude, and forgiveness. I tore through the pages!"-- New York Times bestselling author Christina Baker Kline

Two women are connected across time by the city of Paris, a mysterious stack of love letters, and shocking secrets sweeping from World War II to the present--for readers of Sarah's Key and The Nightingale .

When Caroline wakes up in a Paris hospital with no memory of her past, she's confused to learn that for years she's lived a sad, reclusive life in a sprawling apartment on the rue Cler. Slowly regaining vague memories of a man and a young child, she vows to piece her life back together--though she can't help but feel she may be in danger. A budding friendship with the chef of a charming nearby restaurant takes her mind off her foggy past, as does a startling mystery from decades prior.

In Nazi-occupied Paris, a young widow named Céline is trying to build a new life for her daughter while working in her father's flower shop and hoping to find love again. Then a ruthless German officer discovers her Jewish ancestry and Céline is forced to play a dangerous game to secure the safety of her loved ones. When her worst fears come true, she must fight back in order to save the person she loves most: her daughter.

When Caroline discovers Céline's letters tucked away in a closet, she realizes that her apartment harbors dark secrets--and that she may have more in common with Céline than she could have ever imagined.

All the Flowers in Paris is an emotionally captivating novel rooted in the resiliency and strength of the human spirit, the steadfastness of a mother's love, and the many complex layers of the heart--especially its capacity to forgive.

"Heart-stopping . . . Fans of emotional, romantic stories set during World War II will enjoy this heartbreaking tale of love and loss."-- Booklist
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "When Caroline Williams wakes up in a Paris hospital, she can't remember anything about her past, except that it was painful. Her spacious apartment on the rue Cler offers few clues she apparently does not cook, and she used to paint, but her art supplies were stowed away. She finds her way to Bistro Jeanty, a classic French restaurant where everybody is wary of her. Victor Lamont, head chef and owner, is at least pleased to see her, though he won't tell her what their previous association was. Over six decades earlier, Bistro Jeanty is a favorite among Nazi officers occupying Paris, one of whom has become interested in Céline Moreau, a young widowed mother who works in her father's florist shop. Readers may be able to guess some of the connections between the alternating storylines, but Jio (Always, 2016) weaves in enough surprises to keep the pages turning, especially in the heart-stopping conclusion of Céline's story. Fans of emotional, romantic stories set during World War II will enjoy this heartbreaking tale of love and loss.--Susan Maguire Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Amnesiacs -- Fiction.
Love-letters -- Fiction.
Love, Maternal -- Fiction.
Nazis -- Fiction.
Grief -- Fiction.
Memory -- Fiction.
Widows -- Fiction.
Paris (France) -- Fiction.
France -- History -- German occupation, 1940-1945 -- Fiction.
Romance fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher New York :[2019]
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 290 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 9781101885055
110188505X
Other Classic View