Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. OverDrive items can still be requested, and other digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Gloria takes a stand : how Gloria Steinem listened, wrote, and changed the world

by Rinker, Jessica M.,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 10 Libraries 10 of 11 copies
Available (10)
Location Collection Call #
Braddock Carnegie Library Juvenile Non Fiction J 92 STE
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Non Fiction
 
Call Number  J 92 STE
 
 
Brentwood Library New Juvenile JUV 305.42092 Rinker
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Call Number  JUV 305.42092 Rinker
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Non Fiction J 92 Steinem
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Non Fiction
 
Call Number  J 92 Steinem
 
 
CLP - Allegheny Regional Children's Biographies qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Children's Biographies
 
Call Number  qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
 
 
CLP - Hazelwood Children's Biographies qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
Location  CLP - Hazelwood
 
Collection  Children's Biographies
 
Call Number  qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Biography qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Biography
 
Call Number  qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Biographies qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Biographies
 
Call Number  qj HQ1413.S675 R56 2019
 
 
Millvale Community Library Juvenile Non-Fiction J305.4 RIN
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  J305.4 RIN
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Non-Fiction j 92S STEINEM Rin
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Non-Fiction
 
Call Number  j 92S STEINEM Rin
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Biography J B STEINEM
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Biography
 
Call Number  J B STEINEM
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Carrick Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Perfect for fans of I Dissent comes an inspirational and empowering account of the life of women's rights icon Gloria Steinem.

As a young girl, Gloria Steinem thought for herself and spoke her mind. She read many books by her favorite authors and imagined herself as the heroine of the story.

Gloria wished. She read. And imagined.

But Gloria grew up during a time when women were not encouraged, or even allowed, to do a lot of the things men could do: go to college, get a job, open a bank account, and more. There were restrictions that made it impossible for women to be independent or equal to men. So, Gloria set out to change that . . .

Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote.
Gloria believed. She marched. And dreamed.

From unconventional childhood, to Smith College, to Ms. magazine, to the women's liberation movement, to feminist icon --Gloria Takes a Stand brings to the page a spirited look at Gloria Steinem's influential life, energizing a new generation of feminists to stand up and demand equal rights for all people.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Adding to the growing, yet still needed, #MeToo books for young readers comes this picture-book biography of Gloria Steinem. Starting with Gloria's childhood, traveling the country for her family's antique business instead of attending school, Rinker continues with her attendance at Smith College in the 1950s. As Steinem began to notice gender disparities, she eventually saw that women's rights bridged with civil rights. After listening to women's stories when no one else seemed to, Steinem began to speak out as a feminist and, in 1971, along with Dorothy Pitman Hughes, she created Ms. magazine, the first magazine owned and written by women. The author highlights each phase of Steinem's life with direct (though undocumented) quotes and with three short sentences, such as Gloria listened. She watched. And wrote, which become a refrain. Textured and digitally enhanced mixed-media illustrations evoke the diversity she celebrated, while endpapers sport Ms. covers with Maya Angelou, Hillary Rodham Clinton, and other groundbreaking feminists. Back matter gives more details on both Steinem and women's history in the U.S.--Angela Leeper Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Steinem, Gloria -- Juvenile literature.
Steinem, Gloria.
Feminists -- United States -- Biography -- Juvenile literature.
Feminists.
Biographies.
Publisher New York :2019
Contributors Peoples-Riley, Daria, illustrator.
Language English
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 28 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references.
ISBN 9781681196763
168119676X
Other Classic View