Beautiful bad

by Ward, Annie.

Format: OverDrive Read 2019.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 6 copies
19 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (6)
Summary
"Filled with unexpected twists, Beautiful Bad is a riveting read." --Sarah Pekkanen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Anonymous Girl

"The ending will leave you staggered." --Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

In the tradition of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train comes the psychological thriller everyone is talking about, a twisted novel about a devoted wife, a loving husband, and a chilling crime that will stun even the cleverest readers.

There are two sides to every story... And every person.

Maddie and Ian's love story began with a chance encounter at a party overseas, while she was a travel writer visiting her best friend, Jo. Now almost two decades later, married with a beautiful son, Charlie, they are living the perfect suburban life in Middle America. But when a camping accident leaves Maddie badly scarred, she begins attending writing therapy, where she gradually reveals her fears about Ian; her concerns for the safety of their young son; and the couple's tangled and tumultuous past with Jo.

From the Balkans to England, Iraq to Manhattan, and finally to an ordinary family home in Kansas, sixteen years of love and fear, adventure and suspicion culminate in The Day of the Killing, when a frantic 911 call summons the police to the scene of a shocking crime.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Travel-writer Maddie met soldier-of-fortune Ian almost 20 years ago in the war-ravaged Balkans. After a lengthy and tumultuous relationship, they are now married and living the family life. But when Maddie begins a writing-therapy program after an accident leaves her face badly scarred, we are drawn into her burgeoning paranoia Or are her fears legitimate? based on Ian's erratic behavior. This is a well-constructed thriller with strong appeal for millennials, but the premise seems a bit contrived. Although we are taken artfully through a no-one-is-who-you-think-they-are and, most likely, no-one-is-who-they-think-they-are narrative, the idea that two badly damaged people who filled up rooms with their worldliness, their big words, and their general aura of disdain would expect to find contentment in simple domesticity off the beaten path in Kansas strains credulity, even before murder comes to farm country. Still, the brilliantly conceived and presented conclusion would do Patricia Highsmith proud. Expect plenty of promotion, too, as this debut novel is being advertised as 2019's The Woman in the Window.--Jane Murphy Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "This harrowing psychological thriller from Ward (The Making of June) begins with an aborted 911 call originating from the home that Ian and Maddie Wilson share with their three-year-old son, Charlie. Meadowlark, Kans., police officer Diane Varga responds to find the house silent, the phone smashed, and the kitchen bloody. Scenes detailing Varga's search of the residence and the ensuing investigation alternate with flashbacks from Maddie and Ian's perspectives. The couple chronicles the last 12 weeks, during which Ian was working private security in Nigeria and Maddie was in therapy for anxiety. They also reflect on key moments from their tumultuous courtship, starting with the couple's first meeting in the war-torn Balkans, where Maddie was a Fulbright scholar and Ian served in the British military. Ward takes her time revealing what tragedy transpired in the present, heightening suspense and maximizing her devastating conclusion's emotional impact. Evocative descriptions and strong senses of time and place complement the intricate, intelligent plot, which shocks and chills while thoughtfully examining trauma's toll on people and their relationships. Agent: Madeleine Milburn, Madeleine Milburn Literary (U.K.). (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Electronic books.
Thrillers (Fiction).
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Park Row Books2019.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781488099595
9781488099595
Other Classic View