The owls have come to take us away

by Smith, Ronald L. 1959-

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 10 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - East Liberty Children's Science Fiction j FICTION Smith
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Children's Science Fiction
 
Call Number  j FICTION Smith
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Science Fiction j FICTION Smith
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Science Fiction
 
Call Number  j FICTION Smith
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection j FICTION Smith
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Smith
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j SMITH Ronald
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j SMITH Ronald
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J FIC SMITH
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  J FIC SMITH
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC SMITH
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC SMITH
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j SMI
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j SMI
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG SMITH
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG SMITH
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
In this delightfully creepy novel from Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award winner Ronald L. Smith, twelve-year-old Simon thinks he was abducted by aliens. But is it real, or just his over-active imagination? Perfect for fans of Mary Downing Hahn and Louis Sachar.

Twelve-year-old Simon is obsessed with aliens. The ones who take people and do experiments. When he's too worried about them to sleep, he listens to the owls hoot outside. Owls that have the same eyes as aliens--dark and foreboding.

Then something strange happens on a camping trip, and Simon begins to suspect he's been abducted. But is it real, or just the overactive imagination of a kid who loves fantasy and role-playing games and is the target of bullies and his father's scorn?

Even readers who don't believe in UFOs will relate to the universal kid feeling of not being taken seriously by adults that deepens this deliciously scary tale.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Smith (Hoodoo, 2015) continues to be one of the most distinct and impressive voices in middle-grade speculative fiction right now. Twelve-year-old Simon's longtime obsession with aliens comes to a head when his parents take him camping over the summer. After a terrifying encounter with an owl leaves him with memory loss and a small, mysterious wound on his stomach, Simon worries that he's been abducted and implanted with an alien tracking device. Peppered with moments of reflection and insight, Simon's piercing narration strikes a delightfully conspiratorial tone as he confides in, and at times speaks directly to, the reader. Smith plants a seed of dread and suspense early on that grows and grows, right up until the very last page. The unexpected ending simultaneously wraps up the story line, leaves the reader satisfied, and furthers the book's propensity to blur genre lines. This is an unassuming, stand-alone story that sneaks up when least expected, and it will be hard to forget.--Caitlin Kling Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Alien abduction -- Juvenile fiction.
Extraterrestrial beings -- Juvenile fiction.
Families -- Juvenile fiction.
Children of military personnel -- Juvenile fiction.
Military bases -- Juvenile fiction.
Racially mixed people -- Juvenile fiction.
Alien abduction -- Fiction.
Extraterrestrial beings -- Fiction.
Family life -- Fiction.
Children of military personnel -- Fiction.
Military bases -- Fiction.
Racially-mixed people -- Fiction.
Science fiction.
Publisher Boston :2019
Language English
Description 215 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781328841605
132884160X
Other Classic View