We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The lager queen of Minnesota

by Stradal, J. Ryan,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 14 Libraries 14 of 34 copies
Available (14)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Carnegie Free Library New Adult FIC SHRADA
Location  Andrew Carnegie Free Library
 
Collection  New Adult
 
Call Number  FIC SHRADA
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Stradal
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Stradal
 
 
Carnegie Library of Homestead New Fiction FIC Stra
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC Stra
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Fiction NEW FIC STRADAL
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  NEW FIC STRADAL
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction Fic Stradal
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Stradal
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library New Books FIC STR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FIC STR
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Fiction F STR
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  F STR
 
 
Hampton Community Library New Books F STRADAL
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  F STRADAL
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Display STRADAL J
n
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Display
 
Call Number  STRADAL J
n
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Book Stop STRADAL
n
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Book Stop
 
Call Number  STRADAL
n
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book FIC STRAD
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  FIC STRAD
 
 
Scott Township Library Teen Fiction FIC STRADA LAGER
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Teen Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC STRADA LAGER
 
 
South Park Library New Books F STRADAL
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  F STRADAL
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Realistic F STRADAL
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Realistic
 
Call Number  F STRADAL
 
 
 
Unavailable (20)
Location Collection Status
Brentwood Library New Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport New Book Shelf IN TRANSIT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  New Book Shelf
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library - Sharpsburg
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Crafton Public Library Adult - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Crafton Public Library
 
Collection  Adult - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Millvale Community Library Adult Fiction MISSING
Location  Millvale Community Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  MISSING
 
 
Monroeville Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book IN TRANSIT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library New Book Shelves - Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  New Book Shelves - Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library New Book Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  New Book Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Edith Magnusson's rhubarb pies are famous in the Twin Cities. Still, she lays awake wondering how her life might have been different if her father hadn't left their family farm to her sister Helen. With the proceeds from the farm Helen built her husband s soda business into the top selling brewery in Minnesota. But when the fortune begins its inevitable decline, Diana Winter earns a shot at learning the beer business from the ground up. When the unthinkable happens, it's up to Grandma Edith to secure the next generation's chances for a better future. Can Grandma Edith's Rhubarb Pie In A Bottle Ale save Diana's fledgling brewery?
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Edith Magnusson never thought she'd be figuring out how to translate the flavors of her award-winning pies into beer, but she's had plenty of practice being adaptable. Ever since her father left the family farm to her sister, Helen, Edith has learned to make do on her own. She and her husband raised their children comfortably, but not extravagantly, and no job was ever too small for Edith. When her granddaughter, Diana, turns a severance package into ownership of a fledgling craft brewery, she's surprised to find that brewing is in the family bloodline. A chance to mend decades-old resentment resurfaces, and Edith, Helen, and Diana have to decide how to best navigate the tricky waters of reconciliation. A love story to Minnesota, craft beer, and the power of second chances, Stradal's (Kitchens of the Great Midwest, 2015) second novel goes down easy. Perspective shifts among Helen, Edith, and Diana, letting each woman speak for herself and allowing their narratives to build off one another, despite the non-linear timeline. Imbued with Midwestern references and the importance of a can-do attitude, this warm, witty novel will appeal to fans of Curtis Sittenfeld and Meg Wolitzer.--Stephanie Turza Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Stradal follows up Kitchens of the Great Midwest with a refreshing story about women who know how to take charge in a family that becomes involved in the brewing industry. Edith and her sister, Helen, are young Minnesotans in the 1950s, and though the unassuming Edith gains temporary fame for her scrumptious pies, Helen becomes obsessed with making beer after her very first sip. Both women marry, and while Edith and Stanley Magnusson struggle to make ends meet, Helen manipulates her ailing, beer-loving father by selling him on her capacity to make a beer of her own. After he dies, she takes Edith's inheritance along with her own. Helen's husband, Orval Blotz, is heir to his family's failing brewing empire, and while Helen uses her inheritance and persistence to bring Blotz Beer back to popularity, Edith has difficulty forgiving Helen for her betrayal. The sisters lose track of one another for decades, but Edith's teenage granddaughter, Diana, is drawn, seemingly by fate, into the brewing business. This is not a story of drinkers and drinking, but is rather a testament to the setbacks and achievements that come with following one's passion. This story about how a family business succeeds with generations of strong and determined women at the helm makes for a sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always winning novel. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Sisters -- Fiction.
Women brewers -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes "Pamela Dorman Books."
Description 353 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780399563058
0399563059
Other Classic View