She lies in wait a novel

by Lodge, Gytha,

Format: OverDrive Read 2019.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 5 copies
7 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (5)
Summary
Six friends. One killer. Who do you trust? A teen girl is missing after a night of partying; thirty years later, the discovery of her body reopens a cold case in an absorbing novel featuring a small-town cop determined to finally get to the truth--for fans of Tana French and Kate Atkinson.

"This enjoyably chilling suspense tale conveys both the thrills and the dangers of being a teenager on the brink of adult independence."-- The New York Times Book Review

On a scorching July night in 1983, a group of teenagers goes camping in the forest. Bright and brilliant, they are destined for great things, and the youngest of the group--Aurora Jackson--is delighted to be allowed to tag along. The evening starts like any other--they drink, they dance, they fight, they kiss. Some of them slip off into the woods in pairs, others are left jealous and heartbroken. But by morning, Aurora has disappeared. Her friends claim that she was safe the last time they saw her, right before she went to sleep. An exhaustive investigation is launched, but no trace of the teenager is ever found.

Thirty years later, Aurora's body is unearthed in a hideaway that only the six friends knew about, and Jonah Sheens is put in charge of solving the long-cold case. Back in 1983, as a young cop in their small town, he had known the teenagers--including Aurora--personally, even before taking part in the search. Now he's determined to finally get to the truth of what happened that night. Sheens's investigation brings the members of the camping party back to the forest, where they will be confronted once again with the events that left one of them dead, and all of them profoundly changed forever.

This searing, psychologically captivating novel marks the arrival of a dazzling new talent, and the start of a new series featuring Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens.

Praise for She Lies in Wait

"The mystery intrigues and twists, offering enough red herrings and moments of police procedural to please fans of the genre." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"Neatly plotted and nicely atmospheric . . . This British import is plausible and eminently satisfying. Encore, please." -- Booklist

"What a marvel! A corkscrew-twisty, knife-sharp thriller--yet it doubles as a tender ode to loss and longing. Prepare to be haunted." --A. J. Finn, author of the New York Times bestseller The Woman in the Window
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "There were seven of them, seven teens on a weekend camping trip Brett, Connor, Daniel, JoJo, Coralie, Topaz, and Aurora. After a night of partying, fueled by alcohol and Dexedrine, six of the teens wake up to discover the seventh, Aurora (Topaz's shy, awkward younger sister) missing. And missing she will stay for the next 30 years until her remains are found buried near the campsite, and it is discovered that she had been raped before dying. Enter Detective Chief Inspector Jonah Sheens, who, 30 years earlier, had been at school with the other teens and who now discovers that the surviving six are still a tight-knit group, though one of them is a rapist and murderer. Ah, but which one? This first in a promised series of Jonah Sheens mysteries is a bit anticlimactic, though the story is neatly plotted and nicely atmospheric. And, yes, there is the obligatory, teasing red herring, but the solution to this British import is plausible and eminently satisfying. Encore, please.--Michael Cart Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "On July 22, 1983, bright, beautiful 14-year-old Aurora Jackson, the victim at the heart of British author Lodge's atmospheric debut, disappeared in Brinken Wood in England's New Forest. The discovery of her remains 30 years later near the site where she was camping with her older sister and five other schoolmates catapults Southampton Det. Chief Insp. Jonah Sheens back to one of his first-and most haunting-investigations. The secluded location suggests that the prime suspects remain the same tight circle of family and friends who were in the woods that night-a prospect troubling to the enigmatic Sheens for reasons that will only gradually emerge. Lodge smoothly intercuts the present-day police probe by whip-sharp recent transfer Det. Constable Juliette Hanson and other team members with flashbacks to the last day of Aurora's life as seen through her eyes. In large part due to flip-flops to facilitate the plot, the surviving campers, including a current MP, never become as convincing as the detectives. Nonetheless, this psychological thriller marks a promising start to a planned series. Agent: Felicity Blunt, Curtis Brown (U.K.). (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Cold cases (Criminal investigation) -- Fiction.
Electronic books.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Random House Publishing Group2019.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Audience Adult
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781984817365
1984817361
Other Classic View