We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The psychology of time travel : a novel

by Mascarenhas, Kate,

Format: Print Book 2019
Availability: Available at 8 Libraries 8 of 11 copies
Available (8)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Beechview Science Fiction FICTION Mascarenhas
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Science Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Mascarenhas
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction MASCARENHAS KATE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MASCARENHAS KATE
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F MASCARENHAS Kate
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MASCARENHAS Kate
 
 
Northland Public Library Science Fiction & Fantasy FIC MASCARENHAS SF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Science Fiction & Fantasy
 
Call Number  FIC MASCARENHAS SF
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction Fic Mascarenhas
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Mascarenhas
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC MASCAREN
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC MASCAREN
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction MASCARENHAS
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  MASCARENHAS
 
 
South Park Library Fiction F MASCAREN
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F MASCAREN
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Squirrel Hill Science Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Science Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Scott Township Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Science Fiction ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Science Fiction
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary
"Astonishing."-- The New York Times
"A fascinating meditation on the many ways traveling through time can change a person." --HelloGiggles
"This genre-bending, time-bending debut will appeal to fans of Doctor Who , dystopian fiction, and life's great joy: friend groups."--Refinery29

Perfect for fans of Naomi Alderman's The Power and Margot Lee Shetterly's Hidden Figures comes The Psychology of Time Travel , a mind-bending, time-travel debut.

In 1967, four female scientists worked together to build the world's first time machine. But just as they are about to debut their creation, one of them suffers a breakdown, putting the whole project--and future of time travel--in jeopardy. To protect their invention, one member is exiled from the team--erasing her contributions from history.

Fifty years later, time travel is a big business. Twenty-something Ruby Rebello knows her beloved grandmother, Granny Bee, was one of the pioneers, though no one will tell her more. But when Bee receives a mysterious newspaper clipping from the future reporting the murder of an unidentified woman, Ruby becomes obsessed: could it be Bee? Who would want her dead? And most importantly of all: can her murder be stopped?

Traversing the decades and told from alternating perspectives, The Psychology of Time Travel introduces a fabulous new voice in fiction and a new must-read for fans of speculative fiction and women's fiction alike.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Mascarenhas' debut raises interesting questions about the long-term effects of messing with the fabric of time. Following the four women who invented time travel, the novel shows how their personalities drastically change as they venture into the future. One suffers a breakdown, and, several years later, only her granddaughter Ruby is willing to explore her grandmother's time-traveling past. After a worrisome note is delivered from the future, they travel together to prevent disaster. The time lines circle back on each other, and, though it can be difficult to keep everything straight, Mascarenhas' writing is clear and strong, making this a good choice for readers who want to be immersed in a story.--Carrie Rasak Copyright 2019 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Mascarenhas's intricately plotted debut dizzies the mind with its exciting concept but fails to follow through. Margaret, Lucille, Grace, and Barbara are all at the tops of their scientific fields, and together, they invent the first time machine, an accomplishment that ensures even the most biased men have to acknowledge their talents. However, when tragedy strikes, Barbara is pushed out of her career, and a complex series of events is catapulted into motion. Some of the ensuing complications go far beyond the lives of the pioneers themselves. The story unfolds in a captivating way, and fascinating suggestions are made about the effects of time travel; Mascarenhas even hints that free will ceases to exist. Unfortunately, the plot can't make up for the lack of depth in many of the characters. Readers who value plotting and tightness of story will enjoy this novel more than those who value empathy and characterization. Most unfortunately, the women whose accomplishments are at the center of the story won't be remembered when the book is closed. Agent: Oli Munson, A.M. Heath. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women scientists -- Fiction.
Time travel -- Fiction.
Time-travel fiction.
Science fiction.
Publisher New York :2019
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes Includes discussion questions (pages 337-338).
Description 340 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781683319443
1683319443
Other Classic View