The princess and the absolutely not a princess

by Wunsch, Emma,

Format: Print Book 2018.
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 5 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Brentwood Library New Juvenile JUV Wunsch
Location  Brentwood Library
 
Collection  New Juvenile
 
Call Number  JUV Wunsch
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J WUNSCH
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J WUNSCH
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Juvenile Fiction J F WUN
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F WUN
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Juvenile Fiction JF WUNSCH
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF WUNSCH
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
 
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library Public Library Children's Fiction IN PROCESSING
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Public Library Children's Fiction
 
Status  IN PROCESSING
 
 
Summary
"Brilliantly relevant, playful, and compassionate." -Abby Hanlon, author of Dory Fantasmagory

A princess and a revolutionary form an unexpected friendship in this charming, illustrated chapter-book series, perfect for fans of Judy Moody and Clementine!

Princess Miranda does not want to go to school. She wants to shoe shop, plan parties, and decorate the castle.
Maude cannot wait for school. She loves rules and social justice and getting good grades. She also loves hard-boiled eggs, much to Miranda's dismay.
When a tense first week of school results in Maude getting excluded from the Royal Birthday Party, Maude decides she's found her first fight for social justice: a birthday boycott.
This hilarious, heartfelt chapter-book series teaches empathy, and reminds us that your very best friend could be one desk away.
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Miranda, a quintessential princess, has led an isolated castle life, educated by a "very old royal tutor... who came at noon, napped at one, and left promptly at two." Now her parents are sending her to school, which Miranda knows she will "absolutely, positively hate." She's right: academically, she lags behind the other third graders, who stare and snicker at her, and she gets off on the wrong foot with loner Maude, who roller-skates to school, raises chickens, and aspires to be a social justice advocate. When Miranda excludes Maude from her birthday party, Maude galvanizes her peers to boycott the fete, a move that-in a satisfyingly ironic finale-creates a bond between the princess and non-princess, and each finds her first friend. Von Innerebner (the Ellie Ultra series) includes telling details in the expressive black-and-white illustrations that help limn the differences between the two girls (such as Miranda's abhorrence of hard-boiled eggs versus Maude's love of them, thanks to her beloved hens). With a light touch and humor, Wunsch (The Movie Version), launching the Miranda and Maude chapter book series, underscores the value of eschewing stereotypes. Ages 7-10. Author's agent: Rachel Orr, Prospect Agency. Illustrator's agent: Kelly Sonnack, Andrea Brown Literary. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Series Wunsch, Emma. Miranda and Maude ; 1.
Subjects Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Princesses -- Juvenile fiction.
Social action -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Princesses -- Fiction.
Social action -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :2018.
Contributors Von Innerebner, Jessika, illustrator.
Language English
Description 135 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.
ISBN 9781419731792
1419731793
Other Classic View