The other woman

by Jones, Sandie,

Format: OverDrive Read 2018.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 21 copies
123 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (21)
Summary

THE REESE WITHERSPOON X HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK FOR NOVEMBER AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER

"One of the most twisted and entertaining plots. " --Reese Witherspoon

"Whiplash-inducing."-- New York Times Book Review
"Such fun you'll cheer [Emily's] chutzpah."-- PEOPLE
"This thriller will hit close to home."--Refinery29

The most twisty, addictive and gripping debut thriller you'll read this year.

HE LOVES YOU: Adam adores Emily. Emily thinks Adam's perfect, the man she thought she'd never meet.
BUT SHE LOVES YOU NOT: Lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves.
AND SHE'LL STOP AT NOTHING: Emily chose Adam, but she didn't choose his mother Pammie. There's nothing a mother wouldn't do for her son, and now Emily is about to find out just how far Pammie will go to get what she wants: Emily gone forever.

The Other Woman will have you questioning her on every page, in Sandie Jones' chilling psychological suspense about a man, his new girlfriend, and the mother who will not let him go.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Emily has no idea what's in store for her when she responds to Adam Banks' casual flirtation at a London hotel bar. Adam wins her over with clever humor, and their relationship ramps up with heady passion, all signs pointing toward a happy future. That is, until Adam introduces Emily to his mother, Pammie, and their story takes a dark turn. Pammie raises the quintessential codependent-mother shtick to the next level, sabotaging her son's relationship with carefully orchestrated deception, emotional outbursts, and a formidable gaslighting campaign. When Pammie's announcement that she's been diagnosed with cancer prompts Adam to cancel the wedding, Emily is determined to expose Pammie's lies. But, instead of outing Pammie and restoring her healthy relationship with Adam, Emily discovers a terrifying secret about Adam's ex-fiancée's death. This sneak-attack thriller's power is in its relatability; everything from Emily's slightly snarky, confessional tone to her relationship's incremental slide toward discontent is uncomfortably familiar. Emotionally tense, with layers of deception offering strong appeal for fans of Clare Mackintosh, Christobel Kent, and Karen Perry.--Christine Tran Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "To smitten Emily Havistock, the narrator of British author Jones's engrossing-if-flawed first novel, sexy London IT recruiter Adam Banks seems like the perfect catch-until she discovers Adam has a pretty big catch himself: Pammie, his meddlesome widowed mum with whom he seems hopelessly enmeshed. As Emily becomes painfully aware, her sexagenarian adversary will stop at nothing to split up the couple (including faking a breast cancer diagnosis), and, Emily starts to suspect, might even have had a hand in the death of Adam's previous girlfriend. Far from having the desired effect, however, Pammie's machinations make feisty Emily all the more determined to land her guy, a single-minded focus that leads her to ignore glaring warning signs that the volatile Adam might not really be the one for her-or indeed the man she thinks he is. The startling if unbelievable 180 at the end of the road will spin readers' heads, but not enough to compensate for all the contrivance to engineer it. Still, fans of plot-driven psychological thrillers will enjoy the ride. 200,000-copy announced first printing. Agent: Tanera Simons, Darley Anderson (U.K.). (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Women consultants -- Fiction.
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction.
Mothers and sons -- Fiction.
Possessiveness -- Fiction.
Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction.
Electronic books.
Suspense fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :St. Martin's Press2018.
Edition First edition.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781250192011
Other Classic View