We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

The lido

by Page, Libby,

Format: Kindle Book 2018 2018
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 1 of 1 copy
Available from OverDrive (1)
Summary
"A tender, joyous debut novel about a cub reporter and her eighty-six-year-old subject--and the unlikely and life-changing friendship that develops between them. Kate is a twenty-six-year-old riddled with anxiety and panic attacks who works for a local paper in Brixton, London, covering forgettably small stories. When she's assigned to write about the closing of the local lido (an outdoor pool and recreation center), she meets Rosemary, an eighty-six-year-old widow who has swum at the lido daily since it opened its doors when she was a child. It was here Rosemary fell in love with her husband, George; here that she's found communion during her marriage and since George's death. The lido has been a cornerstone in nearly every part of Rosemary's life. But when a local developer attempts to buy the lido for a posh new apartment complex, Rosemary's fond memories and sense of community are under threat. As Kate dives deeper into the lido's history--with the help of a charming photographer--she pieces together a portrait of the pool, and a portrait of a singular woman, Rosemary. What begins as a simple local interest story for Kate soon blossoms into a beautiful friendship that provides sustenance to both women as they galvanize the community to fight the lido's closure. Meanwhile, Rosemary slowly, finally, begins to open up to Kate, transforming them both in ways they never knew possible. In the tradition of Frederick Backman, The Lido is a charming, feel-good novel that captures the heart and spirit of a community across generations--an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Kate Matthews recently moved to London and found a job with a small newspaper in the Brixton district. Reserved by nature, Kate doesn't stray far from work or home until a new assignment changes everything. The lido, an outdoor pool, might be demolished to make way for a private gym. Working with 86-year-old Rosemary Peterson, longtime lido member and instigator of the resistance, Kate finds professional recognition and a real friend. Will Kate's good fortune help her and her fellow swimmers save this local landmark? Populated with endearing, multidimensional characters covering a wide span of ages and backgrounds, Page's debut novel makes it easy for readers to imagine themselves in the mix. The bond that grows between Kate and Rosemary feels natural and draws attention to how isolated individuals are becoming. Being able to root for the little guys as they stand against a powerful corporation generates a satisfying sense of empowerment. Page's underdog tale can also inspire timely discussions about how to build diverse, place-based communities. A smart suggestion for book clubs and readers who enjoy substance with style.--Hayman, Stacey Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Reporters and reporting Fiction
Female friendship Fiction
Older women Fiction
Literature
Fiction
Electronic books.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Simon & Schuster2018
2018
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781501182044
9781501182044
Other Classic View