You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Potato pants!

by Keller, Laurie,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 21 Libraries 21 of 24 copies
Available (21)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Preschool - Children's J PS SA KELLER
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Preschool - Children's
 
Call Number  J PS SA KELLER
 
 
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Picture Book E KELL
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  E KELL
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Picture Books P SILLY KEL
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  P SILLY KEL
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books qj FICTION Keller
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Keller
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Picture Books qj FICTION Keller
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  qj FICTION Keller
 
 
Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale Easy Readers J E Kel
Location  Carnegie Free Library of Swissvale
 
Collection  Easy Readers
 
Call Number  J E Kel
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Picture Books P KEL
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  P KEL
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Picture Books Je K
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  Je K
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Picture Book E KEL
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Picture Book
 
Call Number  E KEL
 
 
Dormont Public Library Social SOCIAL KELL
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Social
 
Call Number  SOCIAL KELL
 
 
F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library Picture Books JUV PIC KEL
Location  F.O.R. Sto-Rox Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  JUV PIC KEL
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's Easy E EMO KEL
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Easy
 
Call Number  E EMO KEL
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Picture Books J E KELLER
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  J E KELLER
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Magazines PICTURE BOOK JE KELLER
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Magazines
 
Call Number  PICTURE BOOK JE KELLER
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Picture Books j Ea KELLER Laurie
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  j Ea KELLER Laurie
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books J PIC KELLER
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Call Number  J PIC KELLER
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Easy Fiction E KEL
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Easy Fiction
 
Call Number  E KEL
 
 
Robinson Library Juvenile Picture Books PICT FIC KELLER
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Books
 
Call Number  PICT FIC KELLER
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Picture Book j PICT BK KELLER
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  j PICT BK KELLER
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Juvenile Picture Book J E KEL
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Picture Book
 
Call Number  J E KEL
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Picture Books PIC Keller
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Call Number  PIC Keller
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
Bethel Park Public Library Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Picture Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Picture Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Picture Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Picture Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Potato is excited. He's excited because today--for one day only--Lance Vance's Fancy Pants store is selling POTATO PANTS! Potato rushes over early, and just as he's about to walk in, who does he see inside? Mean, pushy eggplant who was rude to him the other day. Now potato is in a pickle. Can he stand up to eggplant in order to get his new stripey pants? Can these vegetable rivals make peace in the name of fashion? Find out in this one-of-a-kind story about forgiveness and making amends by the one-of-a-kind picture book creator Laurie Keller. For fans of Peter Brown, Lane Smith, Bob Shea, and Marla Frazee.A Christy Ottaviano Book
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* In a manic tale that's going to be very hard to read without inducing peels of laughter, a potato almost misses out on a sale at Lance Vance's Fancy Pants Store. When he spots an eggplant who had once given him a rude shove trying on a pair at Lance Vance's, Potato refuses to rush into the store with his fellow spuds. By the time he determines that no other store carries potato pants, the racks are empty. Worse yet, in bursting through the door, he startles Eggplant into ripping his new pants. Uh oh, is it time for mashed potatoes? To panicky Potato's amazement, though, Eggplant only wants to apologize! Better yet, it just happens that there's one pair of potato pants left, on the mannequin in the window, and that just happens to be the very stripy pair with stripey suspenders for added stripey-ness! that Potato has craved since the beginning. Along with filling her pages with tubers of diverse sorts, fitted with cartoon faces and bulging eyes, Keller offers a sprawling line of potato-shaped pants styled (by guest designer Tubérto) in a great variety of loud stripes, checks, and plaids. She also constructs an alliteration-rich narrative using plenty of exclamation points and big type in multiple colors to crank the volume up even further. It's potato pandemonium, any way you slice it.--John Peters Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In this offbeat picture book, the clothes make the... tuber? That's how Potato sees things, barely containing his excitement, even doing the Robot (well, "PO-bot") before rushing down to the one-day Potato Pants sale at Lance Vance's Fancy Pants Store. ("I want a stripey pair just like the ones in the window, with stripey suspenders for added stripey-ness!") But his enthusiasm quickly deflates when he sees Eggplant, who knocked him down the day before. Potato's resulting anxiety over entering the store unfolds over spot illustrations that show emotive, newly trousered 'taters and Potato attempting to take his business elsewhere in comic talk bubbles containing amusing asides. Just when all hope of scoring a pair of pants seems lost, Eggplant and Potato clear up their misunderstandings, and Potato becomes a dud-less spud no longer. The story by Keller (We Are Growing!), buoyed by her kinetic mixed-media compositions (including potato stamps), blends humor and a theme of forgiveness. Final pages pay tribute to designer Tubérto and his Potato Pants collection. Ages 4-8. Agent: Steven Malk, Writers House. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Potatoes -- Juvenile fiction.
Eggplant -- Juvenile fiction.
Pants -- Juvenile fiction.
Forgiveness -- Juvenile fiction.
Potatoes -- Fiction.
Eggplant -- Fiction.
Pants -- Fiction.
Forgiveness -- Fiction.
Humorous stories.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York :2018
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes "Christy Ottaviano books."
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 30 cm
ISBN 9781250107237
1250107237
Other Classic View