Before and again a novel

by Delinsky, Barbara,

Format: OverDrive Read 2018.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Available from OverDrive 2 of 15 copies
Available from OverDrive (2)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (13)
Summary

From Barbara Delinsky, the New York Times bestselling author of Blueprints and Sweet Salt Air , a brand-new novel about a woman in hiding finding the courage to face the world again.

Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for just a moment but the resulting collision was enough to rob her not only of her beloved daughter but ultimately of her marriage, family, and friends--and thanks to the nonstop media coverage, even her privacy. Now she lives in Vermont under the name Maggie Reid, in a small house with her cats and dog. She's thankful for the new friends she's made--though she can't risk telling them too much. And she takes satisfaction in working as a makeup artist at the luxurious local spa, helping clients hide the visible outward signs of their weariness, illnesses, and injuries. Covering up scars is a skill she has mastered.

Her only goal is to stay under the radar and make it through her remaining probation. But she isn't the only one in this peaceful town with secrets. When a friend's teenage son is thrust into the national spotlight, accused of hacking a powerful man's Twitter account, Maggie is torn between pulling away and protecting herself--or stepping into the glare to be at their side. As the stunning truth behind their case is slowly revealed, Maggie's own carefully constructed story begins to unravel as well. She knows all too well that what we need from each other in this difficult world is comfort. But to provide it, sometimes we need to travel far outside our comfort zones.

From a multimillion-selling master of women's fiction, Before and Again is a story of the relationships we find ourselves in--mothers and daughters, spouses and siblings, true companions and fair-weather friends--and what kind of sacrifices we are or aren't willing to make to sustain them through good times and bad.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Five years ago, Mackenzie Cooper took her eyes off the road for a split second and caused a crash that killed her daughter, Lily. Now she lives as Maggie Reid in sleepy Devon, Vermont, where folks accept her as a generous friend, talented potter, and make-up artist for the upscale spa at the inn without asking about her past. When the new owner of the inn turns out to be her ex-husband, Edward, she panics. But Edward's motivations are not sinister. He never stopped loving Mackenzie, but perhaps he hasn't fully dealt with Lily's death, either. Then Maggie's best friend Grace's teenage son is accused of hacking, and it looks like Grace has been hiding a past of her own. With a bucolic New England setting and an emotional story that plumbs depths without feeling too heavy, Delinsky (Blueprints, 2015) perfectly portrays the temptations of starting over and, in Edward, the necessity of being found again. This story of a competent woman realizing she deserves the perfect guy standing before her will appeal to readers of Nora Roberts and Elin Hildebrand. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: A major advertising campaign targeting libraries, blogs, and book clubs will drop just in time for the beach-read season.--Maguire, Susan Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In her deeply moving latest, Delinsky (The Woman Next Door) follows one woman's journey of self-discovery as she learns to face the ghosts of her past. In a moment of distraction, Mackenzie Cooper accidentally ran a stop sign and caused the death of her five-year-old daughter, Lily, as well as the demise of her marriage. Shortly after, she moves from Massachusetts to the quaint town of Devon, Vt., where she goes by Maggie Reid, and, having abandoned her sculpting career, works at the Devon Inn and Spa as a makeup artist. She is constantly reminded of the accident by the scar on her forehead, which she carefully conceals, as well as the frequent meetings with her probation officer following her high-profile criminal conviction. Despite her probation officer's warnings to distance herself from suspected criminals, Maggie provides emotional support for her friend Grace and Grace's son, Chris, who is arrested for computer hacking. Maggie's involvement thrusts her back into the media's spotlight. Her reinvented life is further threatened when her ex-husband, Edward, moves to Devon and buys the Devon Inn. Delinsky's novel expertly explores the depths of Maggie's guilt and redemption, as she learns not only how to find closure from the tragedies of the past but to forge a future in which she can forgive herself. This is a rewarding, emotionally intense novel. 250,000-copy announced first printing. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Life change events -- Fiction.
Electronic books.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :St. Martin's Press2018.
Edition First edition.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9781250119483
Other Classic View