Our kind of cruelty a novel

by Hall, Araminta.

Format: OverDrive Read 2018.
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  Kindle Book
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 9 copies
19 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (9)
Summary

One of LitHub ' s Most Anticipated Thrillers of 2018

"A searing, chilling sliver of perfection . . . May well turn out to be the year's best thriller." --Charles Finch, The New York Times Book Review

" This is simply one of the nastiest and most disturbing thrillers I ' ve read in years. I loved it, right down to the utterly chilling final line. " --Gillian Flynn

"A perfect nightmare of a novel--as merciless a thriller as I've ever read. Astonishingly dark and sensationally accomplished." --A. J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

A spellbinding, darkly twisted novel about desire and obsession, and the complicated lines between truth and perception, Our Kind of Cruelty introduces Araminta Hall, a chilling new voice in psychological suspense.

This is a love story. Mike's love story.

Mike Hayes fought his way out of a brutal childhood and into a quiet, if lonely, life before he met Verity Metcalf. V taught him about love, and in return, Mike has dedicated his life to making her happy. He's found the perfect home, the perfect job; he's sculpted himself into the physical ideal V has always wanted. He knows they'll be blissfully happy together.

It doesn't matter that she hasn't been returning his e-mails or phone calls.
It doesn't matter that she says she's marrying Angus.

It's all just part of the secret game they used to play. If Mike watches V closely, he'll see the signs. If he keeps track of her every move, he'll know just when to come to her rescue . . .

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "This toxic tale of obsession marks the author's American debut. Although badly damaged by a brutal childhood, Mike Hayes has managed to make a success of himself. What holds him together is Verity Metcalf. He remakes his body to her specifications, and he creates a magnificent home that conforms to her ideals. He has every expectation that they will spend the rest of their lives together in exclusionary bliss, for what and who else would they need? When Verity abruptly marries an even wealthier older man, Mike believes it's all just part of a twisted game they used to play and bides his time until he can reclaim her. Hall brings the unreliable narrator to new heights in this disturbing narrative while subtly planting the seed in the reader's mind that Verity, damaged by her own childhood issues, may be feeding Mike's mania to suit her own ends. For fans of Nabokov's Lolita, Highsmith's Ripley tales, or Christine Mangan's recently published first novel, Tangerine (2018).--Murphy, Jane Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "British journalist Hall (Everything and Nothing) makes her U.S. debut with a disturbing psychological thriller. Sometimes there's a fine line between crazy in love and just plain crazy, and for glossy London golden couple Mike Hayes and Verity "V" Walton, it's one that becomes blurrier when, after years of all-consuming passion, V decides she wants something different. Or does she? Investment banker Mike refuses to accept her moving on to advertising tycoon Angus Metcalf at face value, viewing it instead as a new, higher-stakes version of the Crave, their kinky private role-playing game. Hall constructs a suspenseful plot that capitalizes on considerable ambiguity about her characters' motivations, especially the key issue of the extent to which V, a scientist working in AI, might be manipulating Mike. But with the story unfolding through the eyes of the emotionally damaged Mike, who was abused as a boy, readers never learn enough about V and arguably a lot more than they might wish about a narrator whose head is an uncomfortably creepy place to be. Still, Hall is a writer to watch. Agent: Lizzy Kremer, David Higham (U.K.). (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Stalkers -- Fiction.
Electronic books.
Suspense fiction
Psychological fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Farrar, Straus and Giroux2018.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9780374717995
Other Classic View