Devil sharks

by Jameson, Chris,

Format: Print Book 2018.
Availability: Available at 7 Libraries 7 of 8 copies
Available (7)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Beechview Paperbacks PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Paperbacks PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
CLP - Hill District Fiction Collection PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - Hill District
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Paperbacks PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
CLP - Woods Run New Books PAPERBACK Jameson
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  PAPERBACK Jameson
 
 
Northland Public Library Paperbacks P/FIC JAMESON
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/FIC JAMESON
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Paperback Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Paperback Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

A pleasure cruise in Paradise leads a group of friends to a shark-infested Hell in Chris Jameson's Devil Sharks . . .

When Alex Simmons is invited to a college reunion in the Hawaiian islands aboard the private yacht of his old pal Harry Curtis, he is not sure what to expect. The two men had a falling-out years ago over the suicide of one of their friends. Could this be Harry's way of making amends? Or is something more sinister in store?

The crew sets sail and arrives at Orchid Atoll, the site of a deserted former Coast Guard station. But they are far from alone. Out here, three hundred miles from civilization, Alex and his friends are about to encounter two very different brands of evil--one human, the other with fins--unlike anything they could have possibly imagined. They have entered a place where there's no law, no mercy. . .and no way out.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "A group of friends gets together for a reunion in the Hawaiian Islands. They stumble upon some armed men who are up to no good and who aren't shy about their very strong desire to keep their activities a secret. Oh, and there are sharks: devil sharks, to be precise, who lurk in the water and gobble up anyone unlucky enough to get too close to them. As the body count rises, so does the blood-red tension. A bare-bones description of the plot really doesn't do this exciting thriller justice; the meat of the story is in its characters, in the interplay between the good guys and the bad guys, and in the way the author sells the rather implausible story by anchoring it to events that somehow feel plausible. (There is a perfectly acceptable explanation, for example, about why the sharks and the bad guys and the friends are all together in the same place.) Fans of Peter Benchley's Jaws or Steve Alten's Meg series will enjoy the deft mixture of human drama and shark-driven horror.--Pitt, David Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "A once-in-a-lifetime chance to cruise the Pacific turns into a deadly nightmare in Jameson's latest fast-paced horror-thriller (after Shark Island). Alex Simmons and Harry Curtis were college pals, but a friend's death drove them apart. Years later, Harry invites Alex on a yachting trip, claiming that all is forgiven. When Harry asks to detour the group to Orchid Atoll-where his father served in the Coast Guard-and no one objects, Alex wonders whether Harry had this planned all along. Once at the atoll, they come face-to-face with cruel pirates and frenzied sharks. Throwing in plenty of characters to facilitate a high body count, Jameson does a fair job of balancing all their emotional backstories with the ever-present gore and violence. At times, introspection bogs down the pace, but sharks lurking in the background pulls the suspenseful story to a satisfying conclusion. This dark, bloody beach read will make readers think twice about getting in the water. Agent: Howard Morhaim, Howard Morhaim Literary. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Sharks -- Fiction.
Ocean travel -- Fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York, NY :2018.
Language English
Description 296 pages ; 19 cm
ISBN 9781250139566
1250139562
Other Classic View