The girl they left behind : a novel

by Veletzos, Roxanne,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 12 of 14 copies
Available (12)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional Fiction FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - Carrick Fiction Collection FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - Homewood Fiction Collection FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Homewood
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Fiction Collection FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Veletzos
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Veletzos
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F VELETZOS Roxanne
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F VELETZOS Roxanne
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction VELETZOS Roxanne
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  VELETZOS Roxanne
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC VELETZOS
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC VELETZOS
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Fiction VEL
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  VEL
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC VELETZOS
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC VELETZOS
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Monroeville Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

A sweeping family saga and love story that offers a vivid and unique portrayal of life in war-torn 1941 Bucharest and life behind the Iron Curtain during the Soviet Union occupation--perfect for fans of Lilac Girls and Sarah's Key .

On a freezing night in January 1941, a little Jewish girl is found on the steps of an apartment building in Bucharest. With Romania recently allied with the Nazis, the Jewish population is in grave danger, undergoing increasingly violent persecution. The girl is placed in an orphanage and eventually adopted by a wealthy childless couple who name her Natalia. As she assimilates into her new life, she all but forgets the parents who were forced to leave her behind. They are even further from her mind when Romania falls under Soviet occupation.

Yet, as Natalia comes of age in a bleak and hopeless world, traces of her identity pierce the surface of her everyday life, leading gradually to a discovery that will change her destiny. She has a secret crush on Victor, an intense young man who as an impoverished student befriended her family long ago. Years later, when Natalia is in her early twenties and working at a warehouse packing fruit, she and Victor, now an important official in the Communist regime, cross paths again. This time they are fatefully drawn into a passionate affair despite the obstacles swirling around them and Victor's dark secrets.

When Natalia is suddenly offered a one-time chance at freedom, Victor is determined to help her escape, even if it means losing her. Natalia must make an agonizing decision: remain in Bucharest with her beloved adoptive parents and the man she has come to love, or seize the chance to finally live life on her own terms, and to confront the painful enigma of her past.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In 1941, a desperate Jewish couple leaves their three-year-old daughter on a doorstep in Bucharest in the hope that someone will take her in until they can return for her. The little girl ends up in an orphanage and is adopted by Anton and Despina Goza, who name her Natalia. She grows up in cultured and comfortable circumstances, despite wartime deprivations, and not even her accidental discovery that her real parents are still alive diminishes the love she feels for the Gozas. Life hardly returns to normal after the Communist takeover following the war; in fact, the Gozas undergo severe hardships as members of the bourgeoisie and therefore "class enemies." Aid comes from Victor, a young student Anton once took under his wing and who has since risen high in the ranks of the new regime. Despite some clunky dialogue and exposition, the novel, which Veletzos based on her mother's life, is worth reading for its Romanian setting, and questions regarding Natalia's real parents and whether she will ever be reunited with them add an element of suspense.--Mary Ellen Quinn Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Inspired by the story of her grandparents, debut author Veletzos's excellent novel centers on the devastation of Romania by Germany during WWII, and the country's subsequent struggles under Soviet rule. During a pogrom in 1941 Bucharest, a young Jewish couple flees their home. Fearing their capture, they leave their three-year-old daughter behind in an apartment building, hoping that someone will take her in and care for her. Their daughter, Natalia, is brought to an orphanage and is later adopted by Anton and Despina Goza, an affluent childless couple. Despite the bombings and the food shortages, Anton, Despina, and Natalia survive the war with their family intact. When the Soviets invade Romania, the government takes over every aspect of their lives, including Anton's store, and the Gozas are forced out of their home and must live in communal housing. Through all of their trials, Anton maintains his friendship with Victor, a younger man who once lived above his shop and is now a powerful government official. Natalia, no longer the impressionable girl Victor once knew, is now a beautiful, spirited young woman, and Natalia and Victor's passionate romance becomes complicated by his allegiance to the Communist Party. Veletzos expertly weaves historical detail into a rich story about the endurance of the human spirit in the face of adversity. (Oct.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Families -- Hungary -- Fiction.
World War, 1939-1945 -- Hungary -- Budapest -- Fiction.
Hungary -- Social conditions -- 1945-1989 -- Fiction.
War fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher New York :2018
Edition First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 353 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781501187681
1501187686
Other Classic View