Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 2 hours starting at 11 PM on Sunday, October 28 due to scheduled maintenance.

Heaven adjacent : a novel

by Hyde, Catherine Ryan,

Format: Print Book [2018]
Availability: Available at 5 Libraries 5 of 8 copies
Available (5)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Mt. Washington New Books FICTION Hyde
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Hyde
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books FICTION Hyde
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Hyde
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book FIC HYDE
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  FIC HYDE
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC HYDE
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC HYDE
 
 
South Park Library New Books F HYDE
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  F HYDE
 
 
 
Unavailable (3)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Lawrenceville New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - South Side New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Catherine Ryan Hyde comes a bittersweet novel about healing old wounds and finding a new place to call home...

Roseanna Chaldecott spent her life as a high-powered lawyer in Manhattan. But when her best friend and law partner dies suddenly, something snaps. Unsure of her future, Roseanna heads upstate on one tank of gas and with no plans to return.

In the foothills of the Adirondacks, Roseanna discovers the perfect hideout in a ramshackle farm. Its seventy-six acres are rich with possibilities and full of surprises, including a mother and daughter squatting on the property. Although company is the last thing Roseanna wants, she reluctantly lets them stay.

Roseanna and the young girl begin sculpting junk found around the farm into zoo animals, drawing more newcomers--including her estranged son, Lance. He pleads with Roseanna to return to the city, but she's finally discovered where she belongs. It may not provide the solitude she originally sought, but her heart has found room for much more.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Roseanna Chaldecott made a name for herself as a founding partner of a Manhattan law firm, and she lived by her case load. The hours were long, though the pay helped a little, and she knew was sacrificing quality time with her son, Lance. When her best friend and fellow founding partner Alice suffers a massive stroke at 53, Roseanna heads upstate for some solitude. There she finds a dilapidated farmhouse in the foothills of the Adirondacks, and her life takes a drastic turn. When a well-meaning reporter does a story on Roseanna's new life, people from her old life start turning up again. Roseanna has to figure out how to reconcile her past with her present, fixing relationships she thought were beyond repair. With an eccentric group of small-town characters orbiting around stubborn Roseanna, Hyde's newest novel is powered by personality clashes and the power of acceptance. Fans of Kristin Hannah, Lisa Wingate, and Hyde's previous work (The Wake Up, 2017) will relish this soul-searching novel, full of high stakes and snappy dialogue.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Farm life -- Fiction.
Women -- Fiction.
Sculptors -- Fiction.
Women lawyers -- Fiction.
Mothers and sons -- Fiction.
New York (State) -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher Seattle :[2018]
Language English
Notes Includes book club questions.
Description 322 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781503900394
1503900398
Other Classic View