An ocean of minutes

by Lim, Thea, 1981-

Format: Print Book 2018.
Availability: On Order 1 copy
On Order (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Main Library ON ORDER
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection 
 
Status  ON ORDER
 
 
Summary
In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven , a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan--time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years.

But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive, and if their love has endured.

An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past--and the price of letting it go.
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lim's stellar follow-up to 2007's The Same Woman concerns Polly Nader, who signs an agreement to travel through time from 1981 to 1993 to save her boyfriend. During a road trip in 1981, Buffalo residents Polly and Frank are stuck in Texas as state borders are closed to prevent a virulent strain of flu from spreading. Due to time-travel limitations, doctors are unable to travel back far enough to prevent the pandemic's onset, but people are being recruited by the company TimeRaiser to help rebuild the future. After Frank is infected by the virus, the two decide to separate; Polly strikes a 32-month deal to work for TimeRaiser and plans to reunite with Frank upon arrival. Bonded workers spend their time doing jobs like riding exercise bikes for hours in order to power resorts and are disparagingly referred to as journeymen in a future where the country has been divided into the United States and America. Polly is in the latter (composed mainly of resorts for the wealthy), but Buffalo-where Polly assumes Frank is-is in the former. Polly's lowly status and lack of funds keep her from knowing if Frank is even alive, and she isn't allowed to leave America for the United States until her contract is up. She endures betrayals and despair as she tries to break free of her servitude and make the potentially hopeless journey to find Frank. Lim's enthralling novel succeeds on every level: as a love story, an imaginative thriller, and a dystopian narrative. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM Partners. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Time travel -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Sagas.
Interpersonal relations.
Time travel.
Fiction.
Publisher New York :2018.
Edition First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Language English
Description pages ; cm
ISBN 9781501192555
1501192558
Other Classic View