Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 2 hours starting at 11 PM on Sunday, October 28 due to scheduled maintenance.

An ocean of minutes

by Lim, Thea, 1981-

Format: Print Book 2018.
Availability: Unavailable 0 copies
2 people on waitlist
Summary
AN INDIE NEXT PICK!
A "Best Book of 2018" -- Real Simple

"Lim's steady prose and deft character development ensured that I was hooked on Polly's story from beginning to end. [F]ull of fascinating social commentary on class differences, racism and sexism...it's easy to fall into this novel and become emotionally involved in Polly's journey and her search to find the people she loves." -- Los Angeles Times

In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Station Eleven , a sweeping literary love story about two people who are at once mere weeks and many years apart.

America is in the grip of a deadly flu pandemic. When Frank catches the virus, his girlfriend Polly will do whatever it takes to save him, even if it means risking everything. She agrees to a radical plan--time travel has been invented in the future to thwart the virus. If she signs up for a one-way-trip into the future to work as a bonded laborer, the company will pay for the life-saving treatment Frank needs. Polly promises to meet Frank again in Galveston, Texas, where she will arrive in twelve years.

But when Polly is re-routed an extra five years into the future, Frank is nowhere to be found. Alone in a changed and divided America, with no status and no money, Polly must navigate a new life and find a way to locate Frank, to discover if he is alive, and if their love has endured.

An Ocean of Minutes is a gorgeous and heartbreaking story about the endurance and complexity of human relationships and the cost of holding onto the past--and the price of letting it go.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "At first blush, the premise of Lim's dystopian novel is a familiar one: a deadly flu pandemic sweeps across the world in the early 1980s. But the solution is inventive: people whose loved ones are sick can sign up to travel to the future and work as bonded servants for a company called TimeRaiser in exchange for the cure (also from the future) for their loved ones. This is Polly's only recourse when her boyfriend, Frank, falls ill in 1981. Polly signs up to travel to 1993, planning to reunite with Frank when she does. But when Polly wakes up, she discovers she's been sent to 1998, with no means to get in touch with Frank. She finds the world greatly changed, with the U.S. split into two separate countries. Polly is in Galveston, in the newly christened America, saddled with years of service to TimeRaiser. Desperate to find Frank, Polly is forced to navigate this brave new world with no idea whom she can trust. An intriguing and unique entry in the crowded dystopian landscape.--Kristine Huntley Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Lim's stellar follow-up to 2007's The Same Woman concerns Polly Nader, who signs an agreement to travel through time from 1981 to 1993 to save her boyfriend. During a road trip in 1981, Buffalo residents Polly and Frank are stuck in Texas as state borders are closed to prevent a virulent strain of flu from spreading. Due to time-travel limitations, doctors are unable to travel back far enough to prevent the pandemic's onset, but people are being recruited by the company TimeRaiser to help rebuild the future. After Frank is infected by the virus, the two decide to separate; Polly strikes a 32-month deal to work for TimeRaiser and plans to reunite with Frank upon arrival. Bonded workers spend their time doing jobs like riding exercise bikes for hours in order to power resorts and are disparagingly referred to as journeymen in a future where the country has been divided into the United States and America. Polly is in the latter (composed mainly of resorts for the wealthy), but Buffalo-where Polly assumes Frank is-is in the former. Polly's lowly status and lack of funds keep her from knowing if Frank is even alive, and she isn't allowed to leave America for the United States until her contract is up. She endures betrayals and despair as she tries to break free of her servitude and make the potentially hopeless journey to find Frank. Lim's enthralling novel succeeds on every level: as a love story, an imaginative thriller, and a dystopian narrative. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM Partners. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Time travel -- Fiction.
Interpersonal relations -- Fiction.
Science fiction.
Publisher New York :2018.
Edition First Touchstone hardcover edition.
Language English
Description 308 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9781501192555
1501192558
Other Classic View