Due to the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the ability to request physical items has been temporarily disabled. Click here to find out how to create lists of items to request later. You can still request OverDrive items from this site, and all digital resources remain available through the eLibrary site. If you need a library card, register here.

Last call

by Matter, Paula, 1957-

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Penn Hills Library Mystery MAT MYS
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MAT MYS
 
 
Summary

On a bad day at work, bartender Maggie Lewis would love to kill a customer or two. On a very bad day, she's accused of doing just that.

Suspended from her job at a Florida VFW after being set up for the murder of Korean war veteran Jack Hoffman, Maggie has no intention of letting herself be framed. And since the police have yet to arrest anybody for the last major crime in town--the murder of Maggie's husband--she's sure they won't try too hard this time, either. So Maggie must produce enough evidence to clear her name, get her job back, and find the killer before she ends up behind the wrong kind of bars. All in a day's work for a bartender who can't hold her beer, her tongue, or her temper.

Praise:

"A heroine who's not only feisty, but sometimes downright funny as well."--Kirkus Reviews

"Raise your glass to Paula Matter for creating Maggie, a positively intoxicating bartender in North DeSoto, Florida."--Nancy Martin, author of the Blackbird Sisters Mysteries

"You will love Paula Matter's delightful debut mystery. Her misfit heroine will win your heart and keep you guessing."--Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder on Union Square

"Fans of Terry Shames, Bill Crider, and Steven F. Havill will want to get to know Maggie."--Booklist

"Matter sprinkles in lots of clues, some of which appear to be laying the ground for Maggie's next outing. Curious readers will look forward to her further adventures."--Publishers Weekly

"Smart, funny. You'll want to run a tab."--Hallie Ephron, New York Timesbestselling author of You'll Never Know, Dear

"[Maggie] will break your heart and have you laughing out loud!"--Annette Dashofy, USA Todaybestselling author of the Zoe Chambers Mysteries

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Maggie Lewis is tending bar at the VFW in a little North Florida town when one of the regulars is murdered. The sheriff suspects her. To clear herself, Maggie must find the real killer. So much for the plot. The real pleasure in this formula mystery is watching the townspeople as they bump into each other. These are not rustic caricatures. Perhaps the most fascinating is Maggie's tenant, a former cop. He patiently schools her (and the reader) in how to respond to police questioning when to talk, when not to. Then comes Maggie's beautician friend Brenda, uncanny at reading people. And the fat, bald yahoo cop is not what he seems. Maggie is a fortyish widow, a refugee from Miami, getting better at identifying country singers and mastering the yeehaw! Though her mother would die if she knew that. Oh, yes, the murder. An important clue, and one that only a bartender would pick up on, involves the bottles on the back bar. Fans of Terry Shames, Bill Crider, and Steven F. Havill will want to get to know Maggie.--Crinklaw, Don Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Maggie Lewis, the grumpy narrator of Matter's lively debut and series launch, is barely scraping by, cleaning houses and tending bar at the VFW club in the small town of North DeSoto, Fla. A widow, she remains upset that her husband's murder is unsolved after two years. She has even more cause to be angry when someone tries to frame her for the stabbing murder of Korean War vet Jack Hoffman, an especially unpleasant patron of the VFW bar whose body was found early one morning in his truck in the VFW parking lot, covered in blood. Maggie asks former cop Michael Bradley, a would-be-PI who rents half of her Victorian duplex, for help in solving the case. Along the way, she's forced to reassess the people she thought she knew, including the dead man. That she also has to reevaluate herself and her capabilities adds depth to her character. Matter sprinkles in lots of clues, some of which appear to be laying the ground for Maggie's next outing. Curious readers will look forward to her further adventures. Agent: Jill Marsal, Marsal Lyon Literary Agency. (July) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Bartenders -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher Woodbury, Minnesota :2018
Edition First edition.
Other Titles Last call :
Language English
Notes "Closing time is about to get deadly..."
Description 279 pages ; 20 cm
ISBN 9780738757827
0738757829
Other Classic View