Allegheny County Public libraries are closed to the public, but the digital library is open! Check out the eLibrary site for more information. If you need a library card, sign up here. Check your local library's website for more information about closures.

The not-so-boring letters of private nobody

by Landis, Matthew,

Format: Print Book 2018
Availability: Available at 5 Libraries 5 of 5 copies
Available (5)
Location Collection Call #
Jefferson Hills Public Library Juv Fiction J FIC LAN
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juv Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC LAN
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Juvenile Fiction J LANDIS MATTHEW
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J LANDIS MATTHEW
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF LANDIS Matthew
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF LANDIS Matthew
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j LANDIS Matthew
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j LANDIS Matthew
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Juvenile J FIC LANDI
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  J FIC LANDI
 
 
Summary
A trio of seventh graders become one another's first friends as they discover the secrets of a Civil War soldier in this middle grade novel for fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Schmidt

Twelve-year-old Oliver Prichard is obsessed with the Civil War. He knows everything about it: the battles, the generals, every movement of the Union and Confederate Armies. So when the last assignment of seventh-grade history is a project on the Civil War, Oliver is over the moon--until he's partnered with Ella Berry, the slacker girl with the messy hair who does nothing but stare out the window. And when Oliver finds out they have to research a random soldier named Private Raymond Stone who didn't even fight in any battles before dying of some boring disease, Oliver knows he's doomed.

But Ella turns out to be very different from what Oliver expected. As the partners film their documentary about Private Stone--with Oliver's friend Kevin signing on as their head writing consultant--Oliver discovers that sometimes the most interesting things are hiding in uninteresting places. Even Private Stone is better than expected: There's a mystery buried in his past, and Oliver knows he can figure it out.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Not every seventh-grader looks forward to the big Civil War project, but Oliver is different. He's the only teen member of the 104th Pennsylvania Volunteers reenactment group, which spends Saturday mornings prepping for the Battle of Gettysburg's 150th anniversary. When his teacher pairs him with Ella, who is currently failing social studies, Oliver protests. But gradually he finds himself falling for her, despite their disagreements about the direction of their project, which involves researching primary-source documents at the local historical society. After he hurts her feelings, a grand gesture helps to put things right. Both Oliver and Ella come across as strong-willed, vulnerable kids Ella struggling with parental issues, and Oliver flailing in the previously untested waters of romance, while gradually reevaluating what he thought he knew about the Civil War. A social studies teacher, Landis challenges readers to see history as more than endless battles, dates, and generals. Each setting (school, homes, historical societies, reenactment practice field, and Gettysburg) adds another dimension to the characters and issues in this appealing novel.--Phelan, Carolyn Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "A history project seems tailor-made for Civil War buff and battle re-enactor Oliver Pritchard, but the seventh-grader balks when he's paired up with an unkempt and failing classmate, Ella Berry, and assigned a humdrum local private as a subject. Oliver is furious that his encyclopedic knowledge of Civil War battles will be wasted (and unhappy about being forced to work with a partner), and his many frustrations and questionable social skills lead to an array of hilariously awkward moments. Landis (League of American Traitors) strongly sketches the differences between Oliver and Ella's personalities and families, contrasting Oliver's more modest home and curious parents with Ella's workaholic, appearance-oriented family, eventually revealing how Ella attempts to gain attention through her poor grades and sloppiness. The story's pace and romantic tension build as the students gel as a team, research primary sources, and create a documentary. The mystery they solve about Private Stone offers tension and interest, but it's the chemistry between these two characters that is the real star. Ages 10-14. Agent: Lauren Galit, LKG Agency. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Soldiers -- Fiction.
Documentary films -- Production and direction -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Middle schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Soldiers -- Juvenile fiction.
Documentary films -- Production and direction -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Pennsylvania -- Fiction.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Fiction.
Pennsylvania -- Juvenile fiction.
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 -- Juvenile fiction.
JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship.
Fiction.
Publisher [New York, N.Y.] :2018
Language English
Description 298 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780735227989
0735227985
Other Classic View