Santa Fe mourning

by Allen, Amanda,

Format: Print Book 2018.
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Mysteries FICTION Allen
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Mysteries
 
Call Number  FICTION Allen
 
 
Summary
Brilliant new heroine Maddie Vaughn-Alwin makes her daring debut, discovering that speakeasies conceal more than just liquor.

Madeline Vaughn-Alwin's picture-perfect life fades to gray when her childhood sweetheart perishes in the Great War. The aspiring painter leaves her wealthy New York family behind to travel across the country and start over in California. But when Maddie reaches Santa Fe, New Mexico, she halts her westward journey, certain she's found her new home amid the striking scenery and inspiring artistic community.

To help out around her new adobe cottage, Maddie hires the Anayas, a local Native American family. But when the father is found murdered outside a speakeasy, the police brush off the death as just another inebriated man finding trouble. Shocked and distraught, Maddie takes on the case herself. But as she investigates, she learns that the Anayas' home life was not what it seemed. And just as she's starting to see the bigger picture, the autopsy reveals that her suspects' alibis don'thold up in Santa Fe Mourning , Amanda Allen's richly evocative first Santa Fe Revival mystery, perfect for fans of Victoria Thompson and Rhys Bowen.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Allen (a pseudonym for an award-winning, multipublished author) portrays 1922 New Mexico as a mix of the Wild West, Prohibition-era excess, and encroaching East Coast sensibilities. Newcomer Maddie is determined to leave her Astor family strictures behind but also struggles to shed her grief at her husband's death in the Great War. She and the other artists forming a community in burgeoning Santa Fe live in parallel to their less-fortunate neighbors, many of them Pueblo Indians, and a blithe, patriarchal benevolence characterizes the newcomers' attitude toward longtime residents. Maddie fits right in, referring to her servant Juanita, for example, as her best friend, though it's clear Juanita knows better than to assume such coziness. When Juanita's husband is found dead, Maddie turns sleuth, exploring the city's underworld while maintaining the cocktail-tippling romance that is the life of an heiress. Allen's re-creation of 1920s language, dress, and clashing norms helps create an immersive whodunit, and Maddie is sure to become a beloved heroine. Try pairing this with Sujata Massey's The Widows of Malabar Hill (2018), another historical mystery in which a smart woman faces ruthlessness.--Verma, Henrietta Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Set in 1922, this auspicious series launch from the pseudonymous Allen (the Kate Haywood series, as Amanda Carmack) introduces Madeline "Maddie" Vaughn-Alwin, an artist and war widow who has turned her back on her wealthy New York family for the beauty and freedom of Santa Fe, N.Mex. Soon after settling in, Maddie hires Juanita and Tomas Anaya, a married couple, to help around her new house. When Tomas's bloody body is found in an alley behind La Fonda, the city's foremost hotel, the police arrest the Anayas' rebellious 14-year-old son, Eddie, for his father's murder. Convinced of Eddie's innocence, Maddie turns amateur sleuth to prove it. Maddie's detecting takes her all over town, from poor neighborhoods to posh nightclubs and even the largely forgotten underground tunnels linking plaza stores. Along the way, she meets such real-life locals as Olive Rush, a patron of Native American artists, and railroad magnate Frank Springer. Readers will want to see more of the appealing Maddie, whose next adventure is hinted at in the epilogue. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series A Santa Fe revival mystery
Subjects Women painters -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Santa Fe (N.M.) -- Fiction.
Detective and mystery fiction.
Historical fiction.
Publisher New York :2018.
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 298 pages ; 22 cm.
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 294-298).
ISBN 9781683315476
1683315472
Other Classic View