How to fall in love with a man who lives in a bush : a novel

by Abrahamson, Emmy,

Format: Print Book 2016.
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 12 of 12 copies
Available (12)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Brookline Fiction FICTION Abrahamson
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Abrahamson
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Abrahamson
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Abrahamson
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Romance FICTION Abrahamson
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Romance
 
Call Number  FICTION Abrahamson
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Abrahamson
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Abrahamson
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Fiction Collection FICTION Abrahamson
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Abrahamson
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction F ABRAHAMSON Emmy
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F ABRAHAMSON Emmy
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books FIC ABRAHAMSON
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  FIC ABRAHAMSON
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC ABRAHAMS
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC ABRAHAMS
 
 
Sewickley Public Library New Book F ABR
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  F ABR
 
 
South Park Library New Books F ABRAHAMS
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  F ABRAHAMS
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Fiction Romance F ABRAHAMSON
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction Romance
 
Call Number  F ABRAHAMSON
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection FIC Abrahamson
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FIC Abrahamson
 
 
Summary

The international bestseller

For readers of quirky Scandinavian fiction comes this charming and witty debut novel by Emmy Abrahamson--perfect for fans of Jonas Jonasson.

Love stinks. Or maybe it just needs a shower . . .

Vienna: famous for Mozart, waltzes, and pastry; less famous for Julia, a Swedish transplant who spends her days teaching English to unemployed Austrians and her evenings watching Netflix with her cat or club hopping with a frenemy. An aspiring novelist, Julia's full of ideas for future bestsellers: A writer moves his family to a deserted hotel in the dead of winter and spirals into madness! A homely governess loves a brooding man whose crazy wife is locked up in the attic! Fine, so they've been done. Doesn't mean Julia won't find something original.

Then something original finds Julia--sits down next to her on a bench, as a matter of fact. Ben is handsome (under all that beard) and adventurous (leaps from small bridges in a single bound). He's also sexy as hell and planning to shuffle off to Berlin before things can get too serious. Oh, and Ben lives in a public park.

Thus begins a truth stranger than any fiction Julia might have imagined: a whirlwind relationship with a guy who shares her warped sense of humor and shakes up the just-okay existence she's been too lazy to change. Ben challenges her to break out; she challenges him to settle down. As weeks turn to months, Julia keeps telling herself that this is a chapter in her life, not the whole book. If she writes the ending, she can't get hurt.

But what if the ending isn't hers to write?

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Julia's life is one half lived and consumed with waiting: waiting to bump into the famous author who lives in her apartment building, waiting to think of an original story, waiting to leave her job teaching English as a foreign language and embark on a career she loves. Yet she has convinced herself she is content with her dull, predictable life, until she meets Ben. A younger, handsome, spontaneous Canadian, he is adamant in his conviction that he is going to marry Julia. He also happens to live in a bush. Loosely based on Swedish debut novelist Abrahamson's own experiences and skillfully translated by Smalley, this heartwarming tale of self-discovery is filled with many laugh-out-loud moments. Julia is a very relatable character, despite such quirks as taking street surveys and donating plasma, and while her growth is sometimes slow, it is always endearing. Readers who relish an easy, enjoyable read will enjoy this, and the moral of Abrahamson's story look beyond the surface to see who a person really is is presented humbly and delicately, inspiring a smile of satisfaction with its conclusion.--Essien, Enobong Copyright 2018 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Authors -- Fiction.
Romance fiction.
Publisher New York :2016.
Edition First edition.
Language English
Notes Includes a conversation with the author and reading group guide.
Description 230, 12 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 0062678035
9780062678034
Other Classic View