You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

The story of Arthur Truluv a novel

by Berg, Elizabeth,

Format: Kindle Book 2017 2017
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 6 of 11 copies
1 person on waitlist
Available from OverDrive (6)
 
Unavailable from OverDrive (5)
Summary
"Truluv is a moving novel about three people who have lost the person they love most, and must find their way back to happiness. Arthur, a widower, meets Maddy, an angry and friendless teenage girl, while visiting his late wife at the cemetary, where he goes every day for lunch. Against all odds, the two strike up a friendship that pulls them out of a serious rut. They band together with Arthur's nosy neighbor Lucille, to create lives that are truly worth living. Proving that life's most precious moments are sweeter when shared, they go from strangers, to friends, to an untraditional but loving family. Betrayal, loneliness, romance and family are at the heart of this honey of a book, a must-read for fans of Elizabeth Berg's early work. This is a story about life being affirmed at all ages, old and young, and about finding hapiness when hope seems lost. Readers will laugh, cry, and love Truluv"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "A cemetery might be an odd place for two people to strike up a friendship especially an elderly man and a teenage girl but Arthur Moses and Maddy Harris are fairly odd people. Arthur visits the cemetery to talk to his late wife, Nora, though he has a gift for divining the backstories of the graveyard's other permanent residents. Maddy doesn't have a personal connection to this particular cemetery, but she finds the quiet grounds peaceful after the chaos of school and the tension at home. They strike up conversations over picnic lunches and find they have more in common than they ever would have imagined. Maddy's mother passed away when she was young, and Arthur is surprised to find that the teenager is wise beyond her years. This unlikely duo shares secrets, memories, and plans for the future in Elizabeth Berg's inspiring and poignant novel. Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Arthur, the title character of the latest from Berg (Talk Before Sleep), does not enjoy living alone. Since his wife's death, the best part of his daily routine is visiting the cemetery to eat lunch at her grave. The only other constants in his life are taking care of his cat and keeping his distance from his nosy neighbor, Lucille. Then he meets Maddy, a troubled teen who is bullied at school and misunderstood by her father at home, and who has taken to hanging out at the cemetery to be by herself. The two form a bond, and when Maddy gets pregnant with her ex-boyfriend's baby, she seeks Arthur's help. Together with Lucille, who has recently faced her own tragic loss, the three form something like a family. Berg's novel is as comforting as Lucille's fresh-baked cookies, with plenty of charm and memorable characters. Readers will be taken by this story about how friendship can defy any generation gap and how it's never too late to find a new purpose in life. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Arthur Truluv series
#1 - The Story of Arthur Truluv
#2 - Night of miracles
#3 - The Confession club
Subjects Interpersonal relations Fiction
Teenage girls Fiction
Widowers Fiction
Literature
Fiction
Electronic books.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher [Place of publication not identified] :Random House Publishing Group2017
2017
Edition First edition.
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Audience Adult
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle
Description 1 online resource
ISBN 9780679605133
9780679605133
Other Classic View