Allegheny County Public libraries are closed to the public, but the digital library is open! Check out the eLibrary site for more information. If you need a library card, sign up here. Check your local library's website for more information about closures.

Carnegie's maid

by Benedict, Marie,

Format: Book on CD 2018
Availability: Available at 5 Libraries 5 of 21 copies
Available (5)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Audios AB BENE
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Audios
 
Call Number  AB BENE
 
 
CLP - Brookline Audiovisual Collection CD Benedict
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Call Number  CD Benedict
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Audio Books (Cassettes and CD's) BOOK-ON-DISC Fic Benedict (8)
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Audio Books (Cassettes and CD's)
 
Call Number  BOOK-ON-DISC Fic Benedict (8)
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Audiovisual CDB BENEDICT Marie
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Call Number  CDB BENEDICT Marie
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Audio Books CD BENEDICT MARIE
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Books
 
Call Number  CD BENEDICT MARIE
 
 
 
Unavailable (16)
Location Collection Status
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Audio Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Audio Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Audiovisual CHECKED OUT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Open Stacks CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Open Stacks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport AV CHECKED OUT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  AV
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Hampton Community Library Adult Audio CHECKED OUT
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Adult Audio
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Media Stop CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Media Stop
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
North Versailles Public Library Audiobooks CHECKED OUT
Location  North Versailles Public Library
 
Collection  Audiobooks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Adult Audiobooks CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Adult Audiobooks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library Audio Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Audio Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Audio CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library AV - Audiobooks CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  AV - Audiobooks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Audiovisual CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library AV CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  AV
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Audiobooks CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Audiobooks
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Audiovisual ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Summary
From the author of The Other Einstein , the mesmerizing tale of what kind of woman could have inspired an American dynasty. Clara Kelley is not who they think she is. She's not the experienced Irish maid who was hired to work in one of Pittsburgh's grandest households. She's a poor farmer's daughter with nowhere to go and nothing in her pockets. But the other woman with the same name has vanished, and pretending to be her just might get Clara some money to send back home. If she can keep up the ruse, that is. Serving as a lady's maid in the household of Andrew Carnegie requires skills he doesn't have, answering to an icy mistress who rules her sons and her domain with an iron fist. What Clara does have is a resolve as strong as the steel Pittsburgh is becoming famous for, coupled with an uncanny understanding of business, and Andrew begins to rely on her. But Clara can't let her guard down, not even when Andrew becomes something more than an employer. Revealing her past might ruin her future -- and her family's. With captivating insight and heart, Carnegie's Maid tells the story of one brilliant woman who may have spurred Andrew Carnegie's transformation from ruthless industrialist into the world's first true philanthropist.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Immigrant farm-girl Clara Kelley clambers out of steerage and, by assuming the identity of a fellow passenger with the same name, hops onto the dock and straight into a position as lady's maid to Mrs. Carnegie, the exacting mother of Andrew, captain of industry. By turns tirelessly ambitious, philanthropic, and deeply influenced by his bootstrap-climb from poverty, Andrew is the personification of the American dream. He values Clara's intellect and seeming honesty, but their burgeoning relationship jeopardizes her position and ability to aid her family, desperately struggling back home in Ireland. Despite the Civil War setting, Benedict's (The Other Einstein, 2016) novel has a Gilded Age feel. Info dumps occur, and sustained suspension of disbelief is required, yet the story is engaging. The chaste romance will draw readers of inspirational fiction, while the novel is constructed to appeal to those seeking a tale with an upstairs-downstairs dynamic and all-but-invisible female characters who are either the impetus for or the actual originators of great men's great ideas. For Fans of Liz Trenow, Erika Robuck, and Nancy Horan.--Latham, Bethany Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Andrew Carnegie's impetus to take up philanthropy is explored in this excellent historical novel. Benedict (The Other Einstein) begins with Carnegie's letter to himself from December 1868, in which he pledges most of his fortune "for benevolent purposes." The story then turns to farmer's daughter Clara Kelley, who travels in steerage from Ireland; upon landing in Philadelphia in 1863, she is mistaken for an identically named fellow passenger who has died during the passage. Desperate to improve her family's fortune, she assumes the other Clara's place as a lady's maid to the formidable Margaret Carnegie, mother to brothers Andrew and Tom. Clara's education and sharp wit allow her to carry off the deception and, indeed, her intellect brings her to Andrew's attention. She earns his respect and even affection, but differences in status make any prospect of a relationship unlikely. While there are elements of Cinderella, Benedict doesn't let herself or her characters stray from historical realities. The true reason for Carnegie's transformation from industrialist to builder of libraries for all remains a mystery, but Benedict's imagination supplies a delightful possibility. Agent: Lauren Dail, Lauren Dail Literary Agency. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Carnegie, Andrew, -- 1835-1919 -- Fiction.
Housekeepers -- Fiction.
Philanthropists -- United States -- Fiction.
Industrialists -- United States -- Fiction.
Man-woman relationships -- Fiction.
Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher [Westminster, Maryland] :2018
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Kerr, Alana, narrator.
Books on Tape, Inc., publisher.
Random House Audio Publishing, publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by Alana Kerr Collins.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Title from disc label.
Description 8 audio discs (9 hr.) ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9781524751609
152475160X
9781524751586
1524751588
Other Classic View