Thanks for your feedback! Check out the changes we’ve made so far, or submit a new survey.

Looking for your account? Try clicking the icon in the top right corner!

The grouchy historian : an old-time lefty defends our Constitution against right-wing hypocrites and nutjobs

by Asner, Edward,

Format: Print Book 2017.
Availability: Available 3 of 8 copies
Available (3)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Allegheny Regional New Books JK275.A774 2017x
Location  CLP - Allegheny Regional
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  JK275.A774 2017x
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill New Books JK275.A774 2017x
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  New Books
 
Call Number  JK275.A774 2017x
 
 
Northland Public Library Nonfiction 342.7302 AS5
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Call Number  342.7302 AS5
 
 
 
Unavailable (5)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Brookline New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Brookline
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Non-fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Non-fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Non-Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Non-Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Park Library New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
In the tradition of Michael Moore, Ed Asner--a.k.a. Lou Grant from The Mary Tyler Moore Show --reclaims the Constitution from the right-wingers who think that they and only they know how to interpret it.

Ed Asner, a self-proclaimed dauntless Democrat from the old days, figured that if the right-wing wackos are wrong about voter fraud, Obama's death panels, and climate change, they are probably just as wrong about what the Constitution says. There's no way that two hundred-plus years later, the right-wing ideologues know how to interpret the Constitution. On their way home from Philadelphia the people who wrote it couldn't agree on what it meant. What was the president's job? Who knew? All they knew was that the president was going to be George Washington and as long as he was in charge, that was good enough. When Hamilton wanted to start a national bank, Madison told him that it was unconstitutional. Both men had been in the room when the Constitution was written. And now today there are politicians and judges who claim that they know the original meaning of the Constitution. Are you kidding?

In The Grouchy Historian, Ed Asner leads the charge for liberals to reclaim the Constitution from the right-wingers who use it as their justification for doing whatever terrible thing they want to do, which is usually to comfort the comfortable and afflict the afflicted. It's about time someone gave them hell and explained that progressives can read, too.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Politicians and pundits have a penchant for parading their passion for the U.S. Constitution whenever they have a policy to promote. They may act like they know the innermost thoughts of the founders and framers, but really, they're cherry-picking phrases like a cable-news producer looking for a good sound bite. All of this posturing irks Emmy-winning actor and activist Asner, who rails, assisted by Emmy-winning screenwriter Weinberger, at the self-serving hypocrisy emanating everywhere, from the halls of Congress to the Supreme Court. If Michele Bachmann, Sarah Palin, and Teds Nugent and Cruz can call themselves Constitutional conservatives, then Asner can call them out on their so-called knowledge of America's bedrock documents since, unlike his right-wing counterparts, avowed Leftie Asner knows whereof he speaks. Copious citations and a complete transcript of the Constitution support his bona fides. He has studied these essential papers, immersed himself in Supreme Court decisions, and relied on respected historians and scholars to refute the talking points spouted by the conservative party's talking heads. Although it is, indeed, wry and witty, Asner's defense is no mere entertainer's polemic.--Haggas, Carol Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects United States. -- Constitution.
United States -- Politics and government -- 2017-
Publisher New York :2017.
Edition First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition
Contributors Weinberger, Ed, author.
Language English
Description 336 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-334).
ISBN 9781501166020
1501166026
Other Classic View