Control freak

by Moore, Steve, 1965-

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 7 Libraries 7 of 7 copies
Available (7)
Location Collection Call #
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Fiction J Moo
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Moo
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Juvenile Fiction JF MOORE Steve
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JF MOORE Steve
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j MOORE Steve
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j MOORE Steve
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Fiction J FIC MOORE
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC MOORE
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j MOORE
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j MOORE
 
 
Western Allegheny Community Library Middle Grade MG MOORE
Location  Western Allegheny Community Library
 
Collection  Middle Grade
 
Call Number  MG MOORE
 
 
Wilkinsburg Public Library Juvenile Fiction J MOO SPORTS
Location  Wilkinsburg Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J MOO SPORTS
 
 
Summary

In the second book of this new, highly illustrated middle grade series by the nationally syndicated cartoonist of "In the Bleachers," Steve reprises his role as perpetual bench-warmer. Perfect for fans of Timmy Failure and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, King of the Bench is an ode to teammates, underdogs, and bench-warmers everywhere.

Steve is King of the Bench. No brag. That's just a fact. And this season, Steve and his friends are ready to sit on the sidelines of the Spiro T. Agnew Middle school football field. But then they stumble upon an old-school video game controller, and they become convinced it can control sports plays. With it, Steve might become King of Football too!

Oh, and if you're wondering why Steve would write a book and tell complete strangers about a mysterious magic device that pretty much controlled his first season on the football team, too bad! It's a strict rule when writing a book that you have to build suspense first.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Steve, the confirmed benchwarmer introduced in King of the Bench: No Fear! (2017), switches sports but returns with much the same supporting cast for further comical mishaps and heroics. Punctuating his narrative with claims that he's not even exaggerating, the cocky seventh-grader charts the course of Spiro T. Agnew Middle School's Mighty Plumbers as they go from zeroes to heroes on the gridiron thanks to a battered Nintendo 64 game controller that somehow, weirdly, lets him guide teammates into the end zone from the sidelines. Unfortunately, the magic has a dark side as said teammates invariably suffer broken bones or other injuries. Not only is Steve faced with qualms of conscience, but by the time of the championship game, he ends up being the last possible running back. Along with lots of football action, Moore adds Wimpy Kid-style cartoon figures delivering punchlines and snarky side comments (finished art not seen). Middle-graders who like stories that go for the yuks will, as Steve puts it, beat cheeks for this sequel.--Peters, John Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series Moore, Steve, 1965- King of the bench.
Subjects Athletic ability -- Juvenile fiction.
Phobias -- Juvenile fiction.
Fear -- Juvenile fiction.
Athletic ability -- Fiction.
Phobias -- Fiction.
Fear -- Fiction.
Football -- Fiction.
Sports -- Fiction.
Humorous stories.
Football stories.
Sports stories.
Humorous fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2017
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Description 211 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.
ISBN 9780062203328
0062203320
Other Classic View