Stitched. #1, The first day of the rest of her life

by McCourt, Mariah,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Graphic Novels j GRAPHIC HUEHNER
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Graphic Novels
 
Call Number  j GRAPHIC HUEHNER
 
 
Summary
Crimson Volania Mulch has a problem; she just woke up in a crypt and, besides her name, has no idea of who, where, or what she is. Welcome to the Cemetery of Assumptions, a vast landscape of stones, mausoleums, and secrets. Home to monsters and mayhem, it may also hold the answers to her unknown parentage. Crimson is a resourceful patchwork girl and determined to find them. Along the way, she meets the mysterious Wisteria, who has a tendency to change and a witch named Parameter whose spells tend to go awry. And two boys, Simon and Quinton, who make her feel something besides lost and confused. She must battle ghosts, zombies, and monsters in order to learn where she came from and who her real "mother" is. But will she do it alone, or will she have help from her new friends and unexpected crushes?
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Imagine waking up alone in a cemetery with no memories of who you are besides your name. That's what happened to Crimson Volania Mulch, who woke up to find herself all stitched up and, strangely, still alive. She meets some ghosts, a friendly werewolf girl, a cute swamp-monster boy, a wannabe witch, and a dreamy vampire in the first few days of her new life, such as it is. This adorable comic is supremely colorful and detailed, with artwork that's somewhere between typical Japanese manga and Cartoon Network house style, and the unconventional paneling is an interesting departure from traditional layouts. Since the general theme is spooky, the palette is fittingly rather dark, composed of shadowy jewel tones and unnatural hues, and the colors bleed all the way to the edge of the page. A cliff-hanger ending hints at a sequel, and a developing love triangle adds further intrigue. This spooky, atmospheric mystery will be a great fit for fans of Neil Gaiman and Craig P. Russell's Coraline (2008).--Pino, Kristina Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series McCourt, Maria. Stitched ; bk. 1.
Subjects Girls -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Dead -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Monsters -- Comic books, strips, etc.
Comic books, strips, etc. -- United States.
Comics (Graphic works)
Graphic novels.
Publisher New York :2017
Other Titles First day of the rest of her life
Stitched volume 1
Contributors Alexovich, Aaron, illustrator, letterer.
Rausch, Drew, colorist.
Language English
Description 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 21 cm.
ISBN 9781629917757
1629917753
9781629917740
1629917745
Other Classic View