Thanks for your feedback! Check out the changes we’ve made so far, or submit a new survey.

Looking for your account? Try clicking the icon in the top right corner!

In pursuit of memory : the fight against Alzheimer's

by Jebelli, Joseph,

Format: Print Book 2017.
Availability: Available 1 of 9 copies
3 people on waitlist
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Sewickley Public Library New Book 616.831 JEB 2017
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Call Number  616.831 JEB 2017
 
 
 
Unavailable (8)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Beechview New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - New Non-fiction ON HOLDSHELF
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - New Non-fiction
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
CLP - South Side New Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library New Books IN TRANSIT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library New Book CHECKED OUT
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  New Book
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Northland Public Library New Books ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  New Books
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Nonfiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Nonfiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
For readers of Atul Gawande, Siddhartha Mukherjee, and Henry Marsh, a riveting, gorgeously written biography of one of history's most fascinating and confounding diseases--Alzheimer's--from its discovery more than 100 years ago to today's race towards a cure.

SHORTLISTED FOR THE ROYAL SOCIETY SCIENCE BOOK PRIZE 2017

Named "Science Book of the Month" by Bookseller

Alzheimer's is the great global epidemic of our time, affecting millions worldwide -- there are more than 5 million people diagnosed in the US alone. And as our population ages, scientists are working against the clock to find a cure.

Neuroscientist Joseph Jebelli is among them. His beloved grandfather had Alzheimer's and now he's written the book he needed then -- a very human history of this frightening disease. But In Pursuit of Memory is also a thrilling scientific detective story that takes you behind the headlines. Jebelli's quest takes us from nineteenth-century Germany and post-war England, to the jungles of Papua New Guinea and the technological proving grounds of Japan; through America, India, China, Iceland, Sweden, and Colombia. Its heroes are scientists from around the world -- many of whom he's worked with -- and the brave patients and families who have changed the way that researchers think about the disease.

This compelling insider's account shows vividly why Jebelli feels so hopeful about a cure, but also why our best defense in the meantime is to understand the disease. In Pursuit of Memory is a clever, moving, eye-opening guide to the threat one in three of us faces now.
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "The struggle to cure a cruel and increasingly common disease leads down intricate pathways of scientific discovery in this fascinating primer. Neuroscientist Jebelli recalls his grandfather's decline from Alzheimer's disease and meets other victims of the neurodegenerative illness, projected to become the second leading cause of death by 2050. He describes Alzheimer's progression from forgetfulness to a loss of personality and inability to recognize family members to comprehensive mental failure, with sufferers unable to speak or even swallow. But the book's heart is his account of scientists' efforts to understand Alzheimer's, from its mysterious telltale clusters of beta-amyloid protein to its hereditary underpinnings. In addition to specialists, Jebelli visits families whose tragically high rates of Alzheimer's led to the identification of genetic mutations that cause the disease. The saga is full of hopeful-and frustrating-turns as ingenious new research suggests potential treatments that prove effective in mice but disappointing in humans. One promising, if ghoulish, approach is to transfuse plasma from young people into old, which seems to have remarkable restorative effects; alas, there's too little young blood available to treat most Alzheimer's cases. Jebelli's exploration of the vexed science of Alzheimer's is lucid and emotionally rich in its portrayal of those who investigate the illness and those who endure it. (Nov.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Alzheimer's disease -- Popular works.
Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Biography.
Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Family relationships.
Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Care.
Publisher New York :2017.
Edition First North American edition.
Language English
Description xv, 301 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references (pages 265-288) and index.
ISBN 9780316360791
0316360791
Other Classic View