We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Kill the next one

by Axat, Federico,

Format: Large Print 2017
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Springdale Free Public Library Large Print LPF AXAT
Location  Springdale Free Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LPF AXAT
 
 
Summary
Ted McKay had a beautiful wife, two daughters, and a high-paying job. But after being diagnosed with a terminal brain tumor he finds himself holding a gun to his temple. Then the doorbell rings. A stranger makes him a proposition: why not kill two deserving men first, and then Ted will become someone else's target in a suicidal daisy chain. "Argentinian author Axat adds layers of twists to this psychological, mind-bending mystery with an unreliable narrator and hallucinatory atmosphere, all permeated by dread and tension but infused with humanity. The puzzles, labyrinths and hypnotic quality of South American magic realism are cleverly interwoven into this maze of a thriller. For fans of Blake Crouch and Tana French." -- Bill's Bookshelf Selector, Bill Kelly
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Ted McKay is seconds away from committing suicide when he's interrupted by a mysterious visitor who somehow knows about his terminal brain tumor and his suicidal intent. The visitor proposes that, rather than ending it all, Ted should join an organization designed to help rid society of monstrous criminals left unpunished. After killing his targets, Ted will become a new recruit's target. Ted agrees, but the beautifully simple plan turns catastrophic after his first set of killings. After escaping a stalker wearing a lab coat, and then after experiencing horrifying hallucinations, Ted finds himself locked in a ward for the criminally insane. While Ted struggles to determine if he's a psychopathic killer or the victim of a mind-bending conspiracy, his therapist insists that his reality consists of repeating delusions that his mind is using to hide devastating memories. The extremely unreliable narrator is sometimes a challenge to follow through the story's complicated psychological loops, but Axat harnesses that uncertainty to build suspense and creates an intriguing, mind-bending thriller in the vein of Dennis Lehane's Shutter Island (2003).--Tran, Christine Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Argentinian-born author Axat fuses weird fiction with psychological suspense in his stunning U.S. debut, set in the Boston area. Terminally ill businessman Ted McKay is about to shoot himself when a stranger named Justin Lynch shows up at his house with a proposal: kill a criminal who escaped justice and an innocent man who wants to die, and in return, someone will kill him, sparing his family the shame of his suicide. Ted carries out his end of the deal, only to learn that Lynch lied about the circumstances surrounding both victims. As Ted searches for the truth, strange dreams and inexplicable events cause him to question his sanity, leaving Ted and the reader uncertain as to what is real and whom to trust. Nightmare imagery, mind-bending plot twists, and a kaleidoscopic storytelling style lend Axat's tale a vertiginous air, but at the core of this literary fever dream lies an elegantly crafted and emotionally resonant mystery that astonishes, devastates, and satisfies in equal measure. (Dec.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Thorndike Press large print Bill's bookshelf.
Subjects Brain -- Tumors -- Patients -- Fiction.
Serial murders -- Fiction.
Identity (Psychology) -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Psychological fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher Farmington Hills, Mich :2017
Edition Large print edition.
Other Titles Última salida.
Contributors Frye, David L., translator.
Language English
Notes "Originally published as La ultima salida by Planeta de Libros, March 2016"--Title page verso.
Description 627 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
ISBN 9781410498182
1410498182
Other Classic View