Outside shot

by Bowen, Fred,

Format: Print Book 2017
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 4 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv BOWEN Fred
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv BOWEN Fred
 
 
Braddock Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J F BOW
Location  Braddock Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J F BOW
 
 
C.C. Mellor Memorial Library Children Fiction J Bow
Location  C.C. Mellor Memorial Library
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J Bow
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Children's Paperbacks j pb BOW
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Call Number  j pb BOW
 
 
Summary

Looking for baseball action? Check out this Sports Story Series book from Washington Post KidsPost columnist and author Fred Bowen ? perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

?Smartly using sports terminology and internal monologue from the protagonist?s point of view, this latest novel is bound to engage and entertain young readers who double as basketball players and/or fans. VERDICT A must-purchase?? ? School Library Journal

Richie Mallon is known as ?the shooter??the one on the team who scores most of the baskets. Every day he practices at his driveway hoop, perfecting his technique. Richie never plays any other roles on the court, leaving it to his teammates to do the assisting and rebounding.

Under a new coach, Richie makes the team but isn?t given a starting position. So when his shooting skills fall into a slump, can he find a way to become a better-rounded player and stay on the team?

Bowen returns with another fast-paced story of sports, teamwork, and talent. The afterword offers real-life stories about some of the great shooters in basketball history.

Discussion Guide available.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Richie is the shooter for his eighth-grade basketball team. Shooters are critical to the team because their main focus is to score points. Richie has spent hours perfecting his shooting skills and really never plays any other position. After a killer first game, Richie finds himself falling into a slump he just can't pull himself out of. Cammy, one of the team's statisticians, plays lacrosse herself and tries to mentor Richie, stressing the importance of being an all-around player who helps the team in anyway they can. At first he ignores her advice, but soon he starts helping his team win with rebounds and assists. Maybe she is right there might be more to winning than just racking up the points by himself. Bowen's Sports Story series, while often overlooked, regularly offers stories that are engaging, action-packed, and a great next step for struggling readers ready to move beyond the usual high-lo offerings available to them. This quick, satisfying installment is no different and should find easy appeal among reluctant readers looking for novels about athletes.--Tomsu, Lindsey Copyright 2017 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series Bowen, Fred. Fred Bowen sports story series.
Subjects Basketball players -- Juvenile fiction.
Ability -- Juvenile fiction.
Athletic ability -- Juvenile fiction.
Basketball -- Fiction.
Basketball players -- Fiction.
Ability -- Fiction.
Basketball stories.
Publisher Atlanta :2017
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 133 pages : illustrations ; 20 cm.
ISBN 9781561459551
1561459550
9781561459568
1561459569
Other Classic View