You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Pines

by Crouch, Blake,

Format: Large Print 2017
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 3 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
Carnegie Library of Homestead Large Print LP FIC Crou
Location  Carnegie Library of Homestead
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP FIC Crou
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Large Print CROUCH Blake
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  CROUCH Blake
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Shaler North Hills Library Large Print ON HOLDSHELF
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Status  ON HOLDSHELF
 
 
Summary
Secret service agent Ethan Burke arrives in Wayward Pines, Idaho, with a clear mission: locate and recover two federal agents who went missing in the bucolic town one month earlier. But within minutes of his arrival, Ethan is involved in a violent accident. He wakes up in a hospital, with no ID, no cell phone, and no briefcase. The medical staff seems friendly enough, but something feels . . . off.
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* Ethan Burke is on his way to the small town of Wayward Pines, Idaho, to find two fellow federal agents who have gone missing. He has a bad car accident on the edge of town, waking up in the hospital and not at all sure what is going on. The psychiatrist on staff tells him that he has suffered a brain injury and warns him not to leave, but he takes off anyway. The town sheriff is less than helpful, and, with no ID or money, Burke can't reach his superior or his wife, and he begins to fear for his sanity (reminiscent of Dennis Lehane's Shutter Island). Matters turn ominous when Burke finds the ravaged body of one of the missing agents and realizes he's surely on someone's hit list. Clearly, despite the idyllic beauty of Wayward Pines, something is seriously out of kilter: a helpful bartender disappears, picnicking mothers turn homicidal, and seemingly innocent children display maniacal tendencies. The suspense builds to an almost unbearable point, culminating with a twist that ratchets it up even further. Fans of Stephen King, Peter Straub and F. Paul Wilson will appreciate this genre-bending, completely riveting thrill ride, which mixes suspense, horror, science fiction, and dystopian nightmare, all rolled up into one unputdownable book.--Alesi, Stacy Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Series Crouch, Blake. Wayward Pines series.
Subjects United States. -- Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Employees -- Fiction.
Missing persons -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Idaho -- Fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Detective and mystery fiction.
Publisher Thorndike, Maine :2017
Edition Center Point Large Print edition.
Language English
Description 391 pages (large print) ; 23 cm.
ISBN 9781683242635
1683242637
Other Classic View