You may experience intermittent service interruptions between 9:00 PM and 9:30 PM tonight due to scheduled maintenance.

Lady sings the blues

by Holiday, Billie, 1915-1959.

Format: Kindle Book 2011 2011
  Adobe EPUB ebook
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Available from OverDrive 1 of 1 copy
1 person on waitlist
Available from OverDrive (1)
Summary
Perfect for fans of The United States vs. Billie Holiday, this is the fiercely honest, no-holds-barred memoir of the legendary jazz, swing, and standards singing sensation—a fiftieth-anniversary edition updated with stunning new photos, a revised discography, and an insightful foreword by music writer David RitzTaking the reader on a fast-moving journey from Billie Holiday’s rough-and-tumble Baltimore childhood (where she ran errands at a whorehouse in exchange for the chance to listen to Louis Armstrong and Bessie Smith albums), to her emergence on Harlem’s club scene, to sold-out performances with the Count Basie Orchestra and with Artie Shaw and his band, this revelatory memoir is notable for its trenchant observations on the racism that darkened Billie’s life and the heroin addiction that ended it too soon.  We are with her during the mesmerizing debut of “Strange Fruit”; with her as she rubs shoulders with the biggest movie stars and musicians of the day (Bob Hope, Lana Turner, Clark Gable, Benny Goodman, Lester Young, Coleman Hawkins, and more); and with her through the scrapes with Jim Crow, spats with Sarah Vaughan, ignominious jailings, and tragic decline. All of this is told in Holiday’s tart, streetwise style and hip patois that makes it read as if it were written yesterday.
Additional Information
Subjects Holiday, Billie, 1915-1959
Holiday, Billie, 1915-1959 Discography
Singers Biography
Women singers Biography
Women Biography
Jazz Biography
Autobiographies
African American women Biography
African Americans Biography
Biography & Autobiography
Sociology
Music
Nonfiction
Electronic books.
1915-1959.
1915-1959
Publisher New York :Crown Publishing Group,2011
Crown2011
Contributors Dufty, William.
Pelote, Vincent.
OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: OverDrive READ
Format: Kindle Book
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Requires Amazon Kindle or Adobe Digital Editions
Description 1 online resource
Bibliography Notes Discography: pages 193-199.
ISBN 9780307786166
0307786161
Other Classic View