Allegheny County Public libraries are closed to the public, but the digital library is open! Check out the eLibrary site for more information. If you need a library card, sign up here. Check your local library's website for more information about closures.

Grit the power of passion and perseverance

by Duckworth, Angela.

Format: Adobe EPUB ebook 2016 2016
  OverDrive Read
Availability: Unavailable 0 of 7 copies
10 people on waitlist
Unavailable from OverDrive (7)
Summary
"In this must-read book for anyone striving to succeed, pioneering psychologist Angela Duckworth shows parents, educators, athletes, students, and business people--both seasoned and new--that the secret to outstanding achievement is not talent but a focused persistence called "grit." Why do some people succeed and others fail? Sharing new insights from her landmark research on grit, MacArthur "genius" Angela Duckworth explains why talent is hardly a guarantor of success. Rather, other factors can be even more crucial such as identifying our passions and following through on our commitments. Drawing on her own powerful story as the daughter of a scientist who frequently bemoaned her lack of smarts, Duckworth describes her winding path through teaching, business consulting, and neuroscience, which led to the hypothesis that what really drives success is not "genius" but a special blend of passion and long-term perseverance. As a professor at the University of Pennsylvania, Duckworth created her own "character lab" and set out to test her theory. Here, she takes readers into the field to visit teachers working in some of the toughest schools, cadets struggling through their first days at West Point, and young finalists in the National Spelling Bee. She also mines fascinating insights from history and shows what can be gleaned from modern experiments in peak performance. Finally, she shares what she's learned from interviewing dozens of high achievers--from JP Morgan CEO Jamie Dimon to the cartoon editor of The New Yorker to Seattle Seahawks Coach Pete Carroll. Winningly personal, insightful, and even life-changing, Grit is a book about what goes through your head when you fall down, and how that--not talent or luck--makes all the difference"--
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Psychology professor Duckworth's previous work with the competitive global management firm, McKinsey & Company, and a prestigious MacArthur fellowship attest to her own grittiness as she presents a solid foundation for an engaging investigation into grit that is, how the combination of determination and desire affects chances of reaching a chosen goal. With research on activities ranging from sports to spelling bees and contestants from children to adults, Duckworth presents data, charts, and notes connected to real people who showed exceptional achievement in various areas as she assesses proof of a person's grit factor in predicting success. Discussions about the daily commitment required to sustain high degrees of excellence and the consistency of key insights across disciplines further illustrate the author's conclusions. Unlike innate talent, grit is a quality that can be increased by individuals and also encouraged to grow in others. With strong appeal for readers of Daniel H. Pink, Malcolm Gladwell, and Susan Cain, this is a must-have.--Hayman, Stacey Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "What makes high achievers successful, MacArthur Fellow Duckworth writes, is grit-a "combination of passion and perseverance"-coupled to their raw talent. Talent is important, she acknowledges, but talent multiplied by grit is what builds skill, and skill multiplied by grit equals achievement. Duckworth believes that talent or genius is innate, but "grit grows." In three sections, she defines grit, then shows how it can develop "from the outside in" and "from the inside out." She mixes descriptions of her own experience with notable success stories, such as that of quarterback Steve Young, and discoveries in psychology, creating a highly readable guide to achievement. "This book has been my way of taking you out for a coffee and telling you what I know," Duckworth concludes. She includes a self-assessment quiz, advice from Warren Buffet on identifying personal goals, and a chapter devoted to the ideal parenting style-a combination of supportive and demanding-for those who want to encourage the development of grit in their children. This is an informative and inspiring contribution to the literature of success. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Success
Perseverance (Ethics)
Expectation (Psychology)
Diligence
Economics
Self-Improvement
Nonfiction
Business
Electronic books.
Publisher New York :Scribner2016
2016
Contributors OverDrive, Inc.
Language English
System Details Mode of access: World Wide Web.
Format: Adobe EPUB eBook
Format: Kindle Book
Format: Kobo eBook
Format: OverDrive Read
Requires Adobe Digital Editions or Amazon Kindle or Kobo eBook
Description 1 online resource
Bibliography Notes Includes bibliographical references and index.
ISBN 9781501111129
9781501111129
Other Classic View