Valley of the moon : a novel

by Gideon, Melanie, 1963-

Format: Print Book 2016
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 6 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Fiction GID
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  GID
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Gideon
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Gideon
 
 
Hampton Community Library Fiction F GIDEON
Location  Hampton Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F GIDEON
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction PB FIC GID
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  PB FIC GID
 
 
Monroeville Public Library Fiction GIDEON MELANIE
Location  Monroeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  GIDEON MELANIE
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC GIDEO
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC GIDEO
 
 
Summary
The author of the critically acclaimed Wife 22 has written a captivating novel about a love that transcends time--perfect for readers of The Time Traveler's Wife, Time and Again, and the novels of Alice Hoffman.

San Francisco, 1975 . A single mother, Lux Lysander is overwhelmed, underpaid, and living on the edge of an emotional precipice. When her adored five-year-old son goes away to visit his grandparents, Lux takes a solo trip to Sonoma Valley--a chance to both lose herself and find herself again.

Awakened at midnight, Lux steps outside to see a fog settled over the Sonoma landscape. Wandering toward a point of light in the distance, she emerges into a meadow on a sunny day. There she meets a group of people whose sweetly simple clothing, speech, and manners almost make them seem as if they are from another time.

And then she realizes they are .

Lux has stumbled upon an idyllic community cut off not only from the rest of the world but from time itself. The residents of Greengage tell a stunned and disoriented Lux that they've somehow been marooned in the early twentieth century. Now that she has inexplicably stepped into the past, it is not long before Lux is drawn in by its peace and beauty.

Unlike the people of Greengage, Lux discovers that she is able to come and go. And over the years, Lux finds herself increasingly torn between her two lives. Her beloved son is very much a child of the modern world, but she feels continually pulled back to the only place she has ever truly felt at home.

A gorgeous, original, and deeply moving novel about love and longing and the power that time holds over all of us, Valley of the Moon is unforgettable.

Praise for Valley of the Moon

"The literary equivalent of a farm-to-table delicacy: lovingly handcrafted, delectable and transcendent, becoming more than just a tasty appetizer but a full-course experience of love and time and all the mystical beauty that the region has to offer." -- San Francisco Chronicle

"Beautifully written . . . [ Valley of the Moon is] a wonderful story about belonging, love and the aching certainty that there's something more out there . . . sure to appeal to fans of Time and Again or The Time Traveler's Wife ." -- Shelf Awareness (starred review)

"With lovely shades of The Time Traveler's Wife , Valley of the Moon is a magical, cinematic novel, breathlessly romantic and alive with the love of language." --Sarah Addison Allen

"An enjoyable magic carpet ride . . . Two narrators, separated by nearly a century, tell a tale of old-time charm and contemporary agita." -- Kirkus Reviews

"Captivating." -- Booklist

"Gripping . . . This update of Brigadoon is recommended because of its well-crafted twists and thought-provoking insights into different times and cultures." -- Historical Novels Review

"A propulsive and at times deeply suspenseful novel . . . [ Valley of the Moon ] offer[s] powerful and perceptive considerations about the passage of time, the shape of our lives and the often unintended effects our actions have on the people and communities around us." -- Bookreporter
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Gideon, author of the popular Wife 22 (2012), ventures into the world of time travel in a tale reminiscent of Brigadoon. Lux is a single mother in San Francisco in 1975, struggling to raise her five-year-old son, Benno, on a waitress' salary. While Benno is visiting his grandparents, Lux stumbles from her campsite through a fog bank and discovers Greengage, an idyllic community in Sonoma's Valley of the Moon. The members are trapped there by a lethal fog, and Lux can only visit on the day following a full moon. While only months pass during her sojourns in the Valley, Benno is left on his own for years in his world. Gideon enriches this evocative setup with an appealing cast of characters, including Joseph Bell, the founder of Greengage; his wife and sister, who take Lux and Benno under their wings; and Lux's friends in San Francisco, who are baffled by her absences. As problems arise, suspense rises to Gideon's captivating story of two worlds so removed from each other in time, yet similar in so many ways.--Donovan, Deborah Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Single mothers -- Fiction.
Mothers and sons -- Fiction.
Time travel -- Fiction.
Home -- Psychological aspects -- Fiction.
Small cities -- Fiction.
Sonoma Valley (Calif.) -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Fantasy fiction.
Publisher New York :2016
Edition First edition.
Language English
Description 394 pages ; 25 cm
ISBN 9780345539281
0345539281
Other Classic View