We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Predator : a crossbow adventure

by Smith, Wilbur A.,

Format: Large Print 2016
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 5 of 6 copies
Available (5)
Location Collection Call #
ACLA Mobile Library Services Large Print Books LP SMIT
Location  ACLA Mobile Library Services
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  LP SMIT
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books FICTION Smith CL16009
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Smith CL16009
 
 
CLP - Library for the Blind Large Print Books FICTION Smith CL16009
Location  CLP - Library for the Blind
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Call Number  FICTION Smith CL16009
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Large Print Stacks FICTION Smith
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Large Print Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Smith
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Large Print LP F SMITH Wilbur A
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Large Print
 
Call Number  LP F SMITH Wilbur A
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Carrick Large Print Books CHECKED OUT
Location  CLP - Carrick
 
Collection  Large Print Books
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

Former operative Major Hector Cross must face off against a pair of lethal enemies and prevent an international catastrophe in this gripping contemporary adventure-thriller--perfect for fans of Clive Cussler, Ted Bell, and Vince Flynn--from the legendary worldwide bestselling author of Desert God and Golden Lion.

One of the most formidable fighters in the world, ex-SAS warrior and former private security consultant Major Hector Cross has survived explosive tangles with depraved enemies--warlords, pirates, and arms dealers--from the Middle East to the heart of Africa. Now, Cross must take the law into his own hands once again to stop a vengeful old enemy who has resurfaced--and hunt down a deadly new nemesis in pursuit of global domination.

Co-written with internationally bestselling author Tom Cain, this exciting tale, filled with knife-edge tension, cunning global intrigue, rip-roaring action, and breathtaking adventure, demonstrates the extraordinary vision and talent of a writer with a gift for consistently delivering nonstop entertainment.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Smith has been writing commercially successful thrillers, adventure novels, and historical fiction for more than 50 years and has built up a substantial audience. Here he teams up with Tom Cain in a follow-up to Those in Peril (2011) and Vicious Circle (2013). Once again featuring Major Hector Cross, the story is aimed at fans of adventure novels that showcase special ops in the manner of Brad Thor and Brad Taylor. Unfortunately, it's not one of Smith's better efforts. Cross has moved on from the murder of his wife, but her killer, Johnny Congo, has escaped from prison yet again. The manhunt starts anew, and Cross' new love realizes that she is out of the picture until this old business is resolved. Smith is not known for excessive violence, but he and Cain really pile it on here, almost as if gruesome action would somehow make up for a less-than-compelling story. Readers with strong stomachs may find all the mayhem exciting, but Smith loyalists are likely to be disappointed.--Ayers, Jeff Copyright 2016 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In Smith's thrilling third Crossbow novel, coauthored with Cain (and after 2013's Vicious Circle), Hector Cross's archenemy, Johnny Congo, who's been convicted of multiple murders, escapes from a Texas prison just hours before he's to be executed. Vowing to "concentrate every ounce of his strength and every cent of his enormous wealth on the complete and utter destruction of Hector Cross," Johnny begins building alliances to accomplish this task, concentrating on destroying Hector's company, Bannock Oil, physically and financially. Johnny secretly backs the charismatic rebel leader Mateus Da Cunha, who's attempting to overthrow Angolan rule over the tiny province of Cabinda, in whose territorial waters Bannock's drilling operation are located. Amid all the mayhem, Hector has time to acquire a beautiful new girlfriend, Zhenia Voronova. Smith's many fans will be delighted with this new serving of the author's usual heady mix of sex, violence, purple prose, and soap opera. Agent: Kevin Conroy Scott, Tibor Jones & Associates. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Crossbow novels
Book 3 co-written with Tom Cain
#1 - Those in peril
#2 - Vicious circle
#3 - Predator
Subjects Revenge -- Fiction.
Large type books.
Action and adventure fiction.
Thrillers (Fiction)
Publisher New York, NY :2016
Edition First HarperLuxe edition.
Contributors Cain, Tom, author.
Language English
Description 619 pages (large print) ; 23 cm
ISBN 9780062440297
0062440292
Other Classic View