An absent mind

by Rill, Eric,

Format: Print Book 2015
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC RILL
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC RILL
 
 
Summary

Seventy-one, and a man used to controlling those around him, Saul finds himself slipping into what he describes as his slow dance with death.

His ramblings, humor, emotions, lucid moments, and confusion are laid bare, as well as the thoughts and feelings of his loved ones: his wife, Monique, conflicted and depressed...caring, yet angry; his daughter, Florence, compassionate, yet proper and reserved; his son, Joey, self-centered and narcissistic, seemingly indifferent to his family's challenges; and his doctor, an Alzheimer's specialist, who cares for Saul until his final days.

From the beginning Saul and his family know how it has to end, because no one has ever outsmarted Alzheimer's. But as they navigate the meandering road that will eventually bring Saul's demise, they leave behind their once disconnected lives and come together to weather their difficult journey.

Heartfelt and moving, this lauded novel, winner of 2014 gold medals from the Independent Publisher Book Awards, Readers' Favorite Book Awards, and the Living Now Book Award for Inspirational Fiction, will appeal to fans of Lisa Genova's Still Alice or Nicholas Sparks's The Notebook .

Additional Information
Subjects Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Fiction.
Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Family relationships -- Fiction.
Alzheimer's disease -- Patients -- Care -- Fiction.
Alzheimer's disease -- Fiction.
Domestic fiction.
Publisher Seattle :2015
Language English
Description 196 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9781477828540
1477828540
Other Classic View