Vanessa and her sister

by Parmar, Priya, 1974-

Format: Book on CD 2014
Availability: Available at 6 Libraries 6 of 7 copies
Available (6)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - East Liberty AV CD Parmar
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  AV
 
Call Number  CD Parmar
 
 
Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison Audio Visual CD BOOK P
Location  Community Library of Allegheny Valley - Harrison
 
Collection  Audio Visual
 
Call Number  CD BOOK P
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Audio Visual CD BOOK FIC PAR
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Audio Visual
 
Call Number  CD BOOK FIC PAR
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Audiovisual CDB F PARMAR Priya
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Audiovisual
 
Call Number  CDB F PARMAR Priya
 
 
Scott Township Library Audio ACD FIC PARMAR VANESS
Location  Scott Township Library
 
Collection  Audio
 
Call Number  ACD FIC PARMAR VANESS
 
 
Whitehall Public Library AudioBook Collection ABOCD Parmar
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  AudioBook Collection
 
Call Number  ABOCD Parmar
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Woods Run Audiovisual Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Audiovisual Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group.

London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of bright, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of this charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer.

Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times . Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of artists and intellectuals throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London.

But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must decide if it is finally time to protect her own happiness above all else.

The work of exciting young newcomer Priya Parmar, Vanessa and Her Sister exquisitely captures the champagne-heady days of prewar London and the extraordinary lives of sisters Vanessa Bell and Virginia Woolf.

Read by a Full Cast:
"Virginia" read by Clare Corbett
"Vanessa" read by Emilia Fox
"Lytton Strachey" read by Julian Rhind-Tutt
"Leonard Woolf" read by Daniel Pirrie
"Roger Fry" read by Anthony Calf

Advance praise for Vanessa and Her Sister

"Priya Parmar is on a high-wire act all her own in this radiantly original novel about the Bloomsbury Set. Irrepressible, with charm and brio to spare, Vanessa and Her Sister boldly invites us to that moment in history when famous minds sparked and collided. Prepare to be dazzled." --Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife

"With sparkling wit and insight, Priya Parmar sets us down into the legendary Bloomsbury household of the Stephen siblings, where sisters Vanessa and Virginia vie for love and primacy amidst a collection of eccentric guests. Vanessa and Her Sister kidnapped me for a couple of days. I couldn't put it down." --Nancy Horan, author of Under the Wide and Starry Sky

"I loved this brilliant depiction of the true price of genius. Parmar's novel shines a bright light into the empty spaces between the lines of history." --Helen Simonson, author of Major Pettigrew's Last Stand

"This is the novel I didn't know I was waiting for, and it is, quite simply, astonishing: not just because of Priya Parmar's preternatural skill at evoking the moment when the lid was coming off the Victorians, but because of how she has caught the two sisters at the center of that swirl. It is beautiful, wise, and as deft as a stroke upon the canvas." --Sarah Blake, author of The Postmistress

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In her second historical novel, Parmar (Exit the Actress, 2011) portrays Vanessa Bell, Virginia Woolf, Lytton Strachey, Clive Bell, and Leonard Woolf and, through a reenvisioning of the Bloomsbury group's letters, postcards, and telegrams, along with the invention of Vanessa's diary, offers access to their fascinating lives during a snippet of time: 1905-11. Parmar's intimate viewpoint reveals the inspired, contentious, loving, and envious aspects of their relationships while also highlighting their daring, often risqué resistance to lingering Victorian values. At the center, sisters Vanessa and Virginia are just beginning to discover themselves as women and artists, and Parmar shines brightest when exploring Vanessa's internal landscape. There is a good-versus-bad-sister story here, but the narrative is well developed enough to evoke sympathy for each sister's struggle to handle Virginia's mental illness as it shifts the ground beneath their feet. Parmar's novel sparkles, intrigues, and attracts, just as the Stephen sisters must have done in their time. It should inspired readers to revisit the works of the Bloomsbury crowd in a new light, especially Virginia Woolf's.--St. John, Janet Copyright 2014 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Before becoming the celebrated writer Virginia Woolf, young Virginia Stephens lived with her sister, Vanessa, and her brothers in the Bloomsbury neighborhood of London, where they surrounded themselves with other artists and intellectuals. Told in diary entries and letters, this novel captures that period, characterized by emotional upheavals and family crises as well as intellectual and artistic conversations. Emilia Fox is perfect in the role of Vanessa, whose point of view dominates the story. Fox captures Vanessa's feelings of responsibility and exasperation toward her sister, her mixed feelings about her suitor Clive Bell, and her earnest desire to be a serious artist. Julian Rhind-Tutt is likewise excellent as family friend Lytton Strachey: flamboyantly gay, full of lively gossip, prone to self-deprecating humor, and passionately longing for a man he cannot have. Daniel Pirre and Anthony Calf both offer serviceable, straightforward narrations in their respective roles as Leonard Woolf and Roger Fry. The one misstep is Clare Corbett, who is cast as Virginia, the baby of the family and described as brilliant and witty, but also childish, immature, wild, reckless, selfish, prone to fits of hysteria, and actual madness. In narrating Virginia's chapters, Corbett's voice is deeper than the voice of other female characters, with a crackly quality and an overly posh accent, all of which make her sound like a middle-aged woman, not the childish 20-something girl she is supposed to be. The effect is jarring. However, only a handful of chapters are told from Virginia's point of view, so it does not detract too much from the rest of the narration, which is excellent. A Ballantine hardcover. (Dec.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Bell, Vanessa, -- 1879-1961 -- Fiction.
Woolf, Virginia, -- 1882-1941 -- Fiction.
Sisters -- Fiction.
Women artists -- England -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Women authors, English -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Bloomsbury group -- Fiction.
London (England) -- Intellectual life -- 20th century -- Fiction.
Biographical fiction.
Historical fiction.
Audiobooks.
Publisher New York :Random House Audio :2014
Books on Tape,
Edition Unabridged.
Contributors Fox, Emilia, 1974- narrator.
Corbett, Clare, narrator.
Rhind-Tutt, Julian, 1968- narrator.
Pirrie, Daniel, narrator.
Calf, Anthony, narrator.
Random House Audio Publishing, publisher.
Books on Tape, Inc., publisher.
Participants/Performers Read by Emilia Fox, Clare Corbett, Julian Rhind-Tutt, Daniel Pirrie, and Anthony Calf.
Language English
Notes Unabridged.
Compact disc.
Description 9 audio discs (11 hr.) : digital ; 4 3/4 in.
ISBN 9780553545623
9780553398441 (Random House Audio)
055339844X (Random House Audio)
9780553545623 (Books on Tape)
0553545620 (Books on Tape)
Other Classic View