You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for 72 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Lost boy

by Green, Tim, 1963-

Format: Print Book 2015
Availability: Available at 12 Libraries 13 of 14 copies
Available (13)
Location Collection Call #
Baldwin Borough Library Juvenile Fiction J GRE
Location  Baldwin Borough Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J GRE
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Young Adult YA GREEN Tim
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA GREEN Tim
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv GREEN Tim
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv GREEN Tim
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection j FICTION Green
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor Children's Department - Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Green
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Children's Fiction Collection j FICTION Green
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Children's Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  j FICTION Green
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Young Adult YA FIC GRE
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA FIC GRE
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Juvenile Fiction TWE GRE
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  TWE GRE
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF GRE
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF GRE
 
 
Northland Public Library Teen YA FIC GREEN
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Teen
 
Call Number  YA FIC GREEN
 
 
Oakmont Carnegie Library Juvenile Fiction J GR
Location  Oakmont Carnegie Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J GR
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction j GRE
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  j GRE
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC GRE
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC GRE
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Juvenile Fiction JUV SPORTS GREEN
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  JUV SPORTS GREEN
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

From New York Times bestselling author Tim Green comes a captivating baseball story about one brave boy's search for a miracle. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica.

Ever since Ryder could remember, it's always been just Ryder and his mom. But in one day, everything changes. Ryder's mom is in the hospital fighting for her life after being struck by a truck while crossing the street. When he learns that his mom will need an expensive operation to survive, he steps up to the plate.

Ryder finds in his mother's closet a letter and a baseball signed by a Major League Baseball player, and he's sure the signature is his father's. So with this clue and the help of his next door neighbor and a New York City firefighter, Ryder goes on an epic quest to find his father and get the support he needs to save his mom. But will everything fall into place in time, or will Ryder become a lost boy forever?

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "In a tale that is tense and scary right up until its improbably happy ending, 12-year-old Ryder is suddenly left on his own when his mother lands in the ICU. Circumstances dictate he must contact the father he has never known. Fortunately, he gets both immediate and longer-term help from a compassionate New York City firefighter and an embittered ex-reporter immobilized with a degenerative disease. Unfortunately, his dad turns out to be a major league pitcher with a wife and family. After his mom is given only days to live unless she has a very expensive operation, the pressure is on to find a way to come face-to-face with the man and then convince him to help. Green sends his painfully shy but courageous protagonist through realistically vicious emotional rapids as well as less realistic but suspenseful efforts to sneak into baseball clubhouses in both New York and Atlanta. Neither these ploys nor the eventual confrontation go well, but help comes just as all seems lost, and everyone's fortunes even those of the reporter and the firefighter turn bright. Ryder's fear and despair are sharply felt, and readers who prefer stories with uncomplicated resolutions will be pleased by the prolific Green's latest outing.--Peters, John Copyright 2015 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Additional Information
Subjects Mothers and sons -- Juvenile fiction.
Fathers and sons -- Juvenile fiction.
Identity (Psychology) -- Juvenile fiction.
People with disabilities -- Juvenile fiction.
Fund raising -- Juvenile fiction.
Traffic accidents -- Juvenile fiction.
Mothers and sons -- Fiction.
Fathers and sons -- Fiction.
Identity -- Fiction.
People with disabilities -- Fiction.
Fund raising -- Fiction.
Baseball -- Fiction.
Traffic accidents -- Fiction.
Baseball stories.
Publisher New York, NY :2015
Edition First edition.
Audience Ages 8-12.
Language English
Description 299 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9780062317087
0062317083
Other Classic View