Due to planned maintenance, the Library Catalog will be unavailable for approximately 3 hours starting at 9 PM on Sunday, January 23rd. We apologize for any inconvenience.

Juliet's nurse : a novel

by Leveen, Lois, 1968-

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 4 Libraries 4 of 4 copies
Available (4)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Leveen
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Leveen
 
 
CLP - Squirrel Hill Fiction Collection FICTION Leveen
Location  CLP - Squirrel Hill
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Leveen
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC LEVEE
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC LEVEE
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction LEVEEN
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  LEVEEN
 
 
Summary
In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappelletti's darkest secrets. Those secrets-and the nurse's own deepest personal grief-erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns comic, sensual, and tragic, JULIET'S NURSE gives voice to one of literature's most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona's wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare's play, JULIET'S NURSE offers an original perspective and a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona-the love between a grieving woman and her precious milk-daughter.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, JULIET'S NURSE is a rich prequel and reimagining of a classic tale. Drawing readers into the romance and danger of fourteenth-century Italy, JULIET'S NURSE is an engrossing novel of love and loss, suffering, and survival.
Published Reviews
Publisher's Weekly Review: "In her second novel, Leveen (The Secrets of Mary Bowser) imagines the life of Angelica, the nurse in Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. She brings mid-14th century, post-plague Verona to life with its poor, its royalty, and the battles between rival families-here called "Cappalletti" and "Montecchi." Before Angelica can grieve the loss of her own (unexpected) baby in childbirth, her husband, Pietro, a beekeeper, arranges, with the politically savvy Friar Lorenzo, for her to be the wet-nurse for the newborn Cappalletti daughter, Juliet. As the inevitable bond between babe and wet-nurse grows, we are drawn into the protected world of the ultra wealthy, seen through the eyes of the hardworking, no-nonsense but good-humored nurse. Also remarkable is the strong relationship between the nurse and her steadfast husband (in marked contrast to the stiff Cappallettis), who uses his beekeeper trade to gain access to the Cappalletti gardens and his beloved wife. The characters from Shakespeare's work become present-Lord and Lady Cappalletti, Tybalt and Mercutio, Rosaline, and the ill-fated Romeo-and Leveen adds rich new layers to the story we know so well. (Sept.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."

Additional Information
Subjects Shakespeare, William, -- 1564-1616 -- Adaptations.
Juliet -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Romeo -- (Fictitious character) -- Fiction.
Wet nurses -- Fiction.
Family secrets -- Fiction.
Grief -- Fiction.
Verona (Italy) -- Fiction.
Italy -- History -- 1268-1492 -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :2014
Edition First Emily Bestler Books/Atria Books hardcover edition.
Other Titles Romeo and Juliet.
Contributors Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Romeo and Juliet.
Language English
Description 375 pages ; 24 cm
ISBN 9781476757445
1476757445
Other Classic View