Penelope Crumb is mad at the moon

by Stout, Shawn K.,

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 2 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction j STOUT Shawn
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Call Number  j STOUT Shawn
 
 
Robinson Library Juvenile Fiction J FIC STOUT
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J FIC STOUT
 
 
Summary
Penelope "channels the quirkiness of Ramona Quimby!" -- Shelf Awareness

Penelope Crumb is not having a very good week. First she accidentally comes to school dressed as an elephant (dress like an animal day is  next  week), and then in gym class she's forced to square dance. With a boy who is known as Lippy Gordon because of how sweaty his lip is. All the time. Penelope is mortified. And then is extra mortified when she discovers that Lippy doesn't want to dance with her either!

When Grandpa tells Penelope that he sings to the moon when he's having trouble, Penelope grabs onto this plan. But sometimes you need more than the moon to fix things.

Another sweet and funny Penelope book. Equal parts humor and heart, this is a character not to be missed. Perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Judy Moody and Clementine, and for fans who have just outgrown Junie B. Jones and Katie Kazoo.
 

Praise for PENELOPE CRUMB IS MAD AT THE MOON:

" Stout's series about this tween's worries, insecurities, quirkiness and wit deserves a space in library collections looking for precocious, independent girl characters who might not be perfect but are something else: realistic."-- School Library Journal

Praise for the PENELOPE CRUMB series:

* "Penelope Crumb... channels the quirkiness of Ramona Quimby and the detective skills of Cam Jansen... Penelope will delight children and parents alike."-- Shelf Awareness , starred review
 
"Penelope is an intrepid heroine... kids who have outgrown the Junie B. Jones series will enjoy Penelope's equally comical narrative style."-- The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
 
"Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine."-- Kirkus Reviews
Additional Information
Subjects Square dancing -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Square dancing -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, NY :Philomel Books, an imprint of Penguin Group (USA),2014
Contributors Docampo, Valeria, 1976- illustrator.
Language English
Description 200 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780399162558
0399162550
Other Classic View