Fortunes of war. The Levant trilogy

by Manning, Olivia,

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 2 Libraries 2 of 2 copies
Available (2)
Location Collection Call #
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Manning
Location  CLP - Main Library
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
Call Number  FICTION Manning
Penn Hills Library Fiction MAN
Location  Penn Hills Library
Collection  Fiction
Call Number  MAN
In The Levant Trilogy Olivia Manning returns to the story of the young English couple Guy and Harriet Pringle, last seen, at the end of The Balkan Trilogy , departing from Athens ahead of the invading Nazi army. Now, in the spring of 1941, they arrive in Egypt as Rommel's forces slowly but surely approach Cairo across the Sahara from the west. Will the city fall? In the streets the people contemplate welcoming a new set of occupiers, while European refugees and well-heeled Anglo-Egyptians prepare to pack their bags. And at night, everyone who is anyone flocks to the city's famed hotels and seedy cabarets, seeking one last dance before the tanks roll in.

Manning describes the Pringles' ever complicated marriage and their motley group of friends and foes with the same sharp eye that earned The Balkan Trilogy a devoted following. And she also traces the fortunes of a marvelously drawn new character, Simon Boulderstone, a twenty-year-old recruit who must grapple with the boredom, chaos, and fleeting exhilaration of war.
The danger tree
The battle lost and won
The sum of things.

Additional Information
Series New York Review Books classics.
Subjects World War, 1939-1945 -- Egypt -- Fiction.
Historical fiction.
War fiction.
Publisher New York :2014
Other Titles Danger tree.
Battle lost and won.
Sum of things.
Levant trilogy
Levant trilogy
Contributors Sattin, Anthony, writer of introduction.
Manning, Olivia. Danger tree.
Manning, Olivia. Battle lost and won.
Manning, Olivia. Sum of things.
Language English
Description xi, 568 pages ; 21 cm.
ISBN 9781590177211
Other Classic View