You can now place requests for physical library materials on this website. Be advised that items recently returned to the library may continue to appear on your account for a few days. For the safety of library customers and staff, returned materials are quarantined for a minimum of 96 hours before they are checked in. Please contact your local library for hold pickup instructions, or to ask any questions about returned items.

Prodigy : a Legend novel

by Lu, Marie, 1984-

Format: Print Book 2014
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 2 copies
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
South Fayette Township Library Young Adult YA SCI-FI LU
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Call Number  YA SCI-FI LU
 
 
 
Unavailable (1)
Location Collection Status
Bridgeville Public Library Young Adult IN TRANSIT
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Young Adult
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Summary
The second book in Marie Lu's New York Time s bestselling LEGEND trilogy--perfect for fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and DIVERGENT!

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request--June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.

It's their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she's haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood--what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend , Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

"Masterful." -- The Los Angeles Times

"Lu's action-packed series is the real deal." -- Entertainment Weekly
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Taking up where Legend (2011) ended, the second book in the series finds June, patrician military star, and Day, street fighter and hero of the people, on a freight train to Las Vegas, where they hope to meet up with the Patriots those opposed to the government of the Republic and its dictator, the Elector. It's hard to describe the plot without giving up spoilers, but suffice it to say June and Day's newfound attraction intensifies, even as their issues with trust and outside sources (including Day's old friend Tess) threaten the relationship. Meanwhile, more backstory about the history of the Republic and the Colonies fleshes out the narrative. As in the previous book, the story is told in the alternating voices of June and Day, which are presented in two different typefaces and colors. This is a well-molded mixture of intrigue, romance, and action, where things can change with almost any turn of the page, and frequently do. A soap-operatic turn of events at the book's conclusion doesn't hurt at all and will only heighten the clamor for the next title.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "The characters are known, world-building is complete, and readers know the destination is still out of reach. It's the second book of a trilogy-how will the author handle it? Lu opts for a high simmer of intrigue in her sequel to Legend. June and Day are crucial pawns in the game of political plot and counterplot as power at the top of the Republic changes hands. Love must take a backseat: for Day, to family and friends; and for June, to the greater good that is her lodestone now that her family is dead. The pair is separated for much of the book, and talk dominates action-the world-shaping machinations are the means to bring about a more personal, subtle pivot in the story. June and Day were once divided by ignorance and circumstance; now they are held apart by principle and choice. The portrayal of their dilemma is taut and insightful, and while the story line resembles a high plateau of tension rather than a conventional arc, there are enough unfolding questions to propel the narrative to its aching ending. Ages 12-up. Agent: Kristin Nelson, Nelson Literary Agency. (Jan.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series Lu, Marie, 1984- Legend novel.
#1 - Legend
#2 - Prodigy
#3 - Champion
Subjects Fugitives from justice -- Fiction.
Criminals -- Fiction.
Soldiers -- Fiction.
War -- Fiction.
Government, Resistance to -- Fiction.
Assassination -- Fiction.
Science fiction.
Fugitives from justice -- Juvenile fiction.
Criminals -- Juvenile fiction.
Soldiers -- Juvenile fiction.
Government, Resistance to -- Juvenile fiction.
Assassination -- Juvenile fiction.
War stories.
Young adult fiction.
Publisher New York, New York :2014
Language English
Notes Originally published: New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2013.
Includes and excerpt of the author's, Champion.
Description 374, 13 pages : map ; 21 cm.
ISBN 0142427551
9780142427552
Other Classic View