The perfume collector : a novel

by Tessaro, Kathleen, 1965-

Format: Print Book 2013.
Availability: Available at 23 Libraries 24 of 34 copies
Available (24)
Location Collection Call #
Andrew Bayne Memorial Library Fiction Fic Tess
Location  Andrew Bayne Memorial Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Tess
 
 
Bethel Park Public Library Fiction FIC TESSARO Kathleen
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TESSARO Kathleen
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Fiction FIC TES
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TES
 
 
Bridgeville Public Library Fiction FIC TES
Location  Bridgeville Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TES
 
 
CLP - Beechview Fiction FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Beechview
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - East Liberty Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - East Liberty
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - Lawrenceville Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Lawrenceville
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - Main Library First Floor - Fiction Stacks FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Main Library
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Stacks
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - Mt. Washington Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Mt. Washington
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - Sheraden Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Sheraden
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - South Side Fiction FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - South Side
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - West End Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - West End
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
CLP - Woods Run Fiction Collection FICTION Tessaro
Location  CLP - Woods Run
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Call Number  FICTION Tessaro
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Fiction Fic Tessaro
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  Fic Tessaro
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Fiction FIC TES
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TES
 
 
Coraopolis Memorial Library Adult Fiction TESS
Location  Coraopolis Memorial Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Call Number  TESS
 
 
Dormont Public Library Fiction F TESS
Location  Dormont Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F TESS
 
 
Jefferson Hills Public Library Fiction FIC TES
Location  Jefferson Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TES
 
 
Northern Tier Regional Library Fiction FIC TESSA
Location  Northern Tier Regional Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TESSA
 
 
Northland Public Library Fiction FIC TESSARO
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TESSARO
 
 
Plum Community Library Fiction FIC TES
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TES
 
 
Robinson Library Fiction FIC TESSARO
Location  Robinson Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  FIC TESSARO
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Fiction TESSARO pbk
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  TESSARO pbk
 
 
South Park Library Fiction F TES
Location  South Park Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Call Number  F TES
 
 
 
Unavailable (10)
Location Collection Status
CLP - Downtown and Business First Floor - Fiction Collection IN TRANSIT
Location  CLP - Downtown and Business
 
Collection  First Floor - Fiction Collection
 
Status  IN TRANSIT
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Moon Township Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Moon Township Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Adult Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Adult Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Sewickley Public Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Sewickley Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
South Fayette Township Library Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  South Fayette Township Library
 
Collection  Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Upper St. Clair Township Library Womens' Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Upper St. Clair Township Library
 
Collection  Womens' Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Whitehall Public Library Fiction Collection CHECKED OUT
Location  Whitehall Public Library
 
Collection  Fiction Collection
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary

A remarkable novel about secrets, desire, memory, passion, and possibility.

Newlywed Grace Monroe doesn't fit anyone's expectations of a successful 1950s London socialite, least of all her own. When she receives an unexpected inheritance from a complete stranger, Madame Eva d'Orsey, Grace is drawn to uncover the identity of her mysterious benefactor.

Weaving through the decades, from 1920s New York to Monte Carlo, Paris, and London, the story Grace uncovers is that of an extraordinary women who inspired one of Paris's greatest perfumers. Immortalized in three evocative perfumes, Eva d'Orsey's history will transform Grace's life forever, forcing her to choose between the woman she is expected to be and the person she really is.

The Perfume Collector explores the complex and obsessive love between muse and artist, and the tremendous power of memory and scent.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Grace Monroe, a newlywed raised in the studious world of Oxford and bland English food, is completely uncomfortable with the glamorous parties and socializing her new life demands. When a mysterious French benefactor leaves Grace a surprising sum in her will, she jumps at the chance to leave her overbearing husband and London's glittering social scene behind. What she finds in Paris, however, changes everything she knew about her past and has the power to change everything about her future. Tessaro combines Grace's story with that of Eva d'Orsey, muse to one of Paris' most famous perfumers and possessor of quite a few unusual talents herself. Sliding seamlessly between the 1950s and the 1920s, Tessaro depicts New York, Paris, London, and Monte Carlo with lush, descriptive imagery and admirable authenticity. Grace is a beguiling heroine, uneasy in her current situation yet hesitant to fully uncover the connections she and Eva share. Fans of Anita Shreve and Maeve Binchy will find The Perfume Collector a bewitching, compelling novel, full of dark desires, long-buried secrets, revisited memories, and new opportunities.--Turza, Stephanie Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Tessaro (Innocence) dazzles the senses in this novel about a reluctant British socialite who receives a mysterious inheritance from an unknown Frenchwoman in 1950s Europe. Tessaro's flashback-layered narrative concerns the mildly cliched Grace Munroe, a London housewife yearning for a sense of purpose, and Eva d'Orsey, an older Frenchwoman "living between memory and regret." After Eva dies, Grace is surprised to receive a letter naming her as chief beneficiary. Upon arriving in Paris she meets Edouard Tissot, Eva's lawyer and, predictably, a potential love interest. Searching for her connection to Eva, Grace discovers a derelict perfume shop staffed by Russian-born master perfumer Madame Zed, who weaves a preachy morality tale about the downfall of young orphaned Eva in New York City a quarter-century before. As Eva's history surfaces, Grace finds the value in her inheritance and the price Eva paid to bestow it. Predictably, Tessaro cycles between narratives, but brings the cities to life, from the "dreamy, shifting blues and dusky greens" of a London "Turner watercolour" morning to the "glowing softness" of Paris. Nuanced observations soften the blow of the contrived banter, familiar form, and one particularly overindulgent shopping-day passage. Agent: Jennifer Joel, ICM. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Socialites -- Fiction.
Perfumes -- Fiction.
Inspiration -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :2013.
Edition First U.S. edition.
Language English
Description 456 pages ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780062257833
0062257838
9781443406017
9780062257840
1443406015
Other Classic View