We've added some new features. Please check out our recent changes.

Helsinki white

by Thompson, James, 1964-2014

Format: Print Book 2013
Availability: Available at 1 Library 1 of 1 copy
Available (1)
Location Collection Call #
Shaler North Hills Library Mystery MYSTERY THOMPSON
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Mystery
 
Call Number  MYSTERY THOMPSON
 
 
Summary
Inspector Kari Vaara, recovering from brain surgery, is back to doing police work--under circumstances most cops only dream of. Reporting directly to the national chief of police, Kari and his partners Milo and Sulo have been granted secrecy and autonomy for their new black-ops unit, and plenty of cash to work with, including whatever they can steal from Helsinki's mobsters.

But Kari's team is too good, and their actions have unintended consequences...The president of Finland wants the team on a new case: the vicious assassination of a prominent immigrants' rights activist. Against a backdrop of simmering hatred spreading across the country, Kari must solve a case that involves the kidnapping of a billionaire's children, a Faustian bargain with a former French Legionnaire--and his own wife.

Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "*Starred Review* This was one of the first Scandinavian crime novels to be published after Norwegian Anders Breivik's shooting spree at a youth camp in 2011, which resulted in 69 deaths, and in that context, the novel's themes of hate, racism, and politics ring especially true. After brain surgery and the birth of his daughter, Inspector Kari Vaara returns to work, running his new and illegally funded black-ops unit out of his apartment. Working with the large and terrifying Sweetness, and the brilliant but sociopathic hacker Milo, Kari is tasked with an actual murder case, the death of an immigrant-rights advocate after his highly successful campaign against illegal drugs helps dry out Helsinki. Their investigation attracts the attention of some rather dubious characters, including Moreau, who claims to be an expat Finn returned to the home country after years in the French Foreign Legion. Bearing gifts of fresh, uncut heroin from Afghanistan, Moreau joins Kari, Milo, and Sweetness, providing them with weapons training as well as an entree into the international underworld. As the case takes Kari higher and higher into Finnish government, he realizes that, in order to survive, he must not only take money from drug dealers but also gather dirt on those above him. A must-read for fans of Stieg Larsson and Henning Mankell.--Moyer, Jessica Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Racial hatred drives Thompson's explosive third thriller featuring Insp. Kari Vaara (after 2011's Lucifer's Tears). When Finland's national chief of police asks Kari to head a covert team to fight organized crime by hijacking buys and planting drugs and guns on rival dealers, all allegedly to help clean up Helsinki, Kari realizes that he'd be complicit in corruption, as the money collected would not only fund the operation but also funnel back up the chain of command. Kari's American wife, Kate, understands the implicit risks, but doesn't immediately object. Flawed team members include his eager-beaver partner, Milo Nieminien, and the imposing but naive Sulo "Sweetness" Polvinen. The murder of the minister of immigration, Lisbet Soderlund, whose head is sent by mail to the Finnish Somalia Network with a note denouncing her pro-immigration stance, raises the ante. A race war threatens, with the right-wing Real Finns Party fanning the flames. Thompson deftly explores moral gray areas in this all too topical novel. Agent: Nat Sobel, Sobel Weber Associates. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Series An Inspector Vaara novel
#1 - Snow angels
#2 - Lucifer's tears
#3 - Helsinki white
#4 - Helsinki blood
Subjects Police -- Finland -- Fiction.
Homicide investigation -- Fiction.
Murder -- Investigation -- Fiction.
Finnish Americans -- Fiction.
Brain -- Tumors -- Patients -- Fiction.
Helsinki (Finland) -- Fiction.
Publisher New York :Berkley Pub Group,2013
Language English
Description 355 pages ; 21 cm
ISBN 9780425253441
0425253449
Other Classic View