Starring Jules (as herself)

by Ain, Beth Levine.

Format: Print Book 2013
Availability: Available at 9 Libraries 9 of 11 copies
Available (9)
Location Collection Call #
Bethel Park Public Library Juvenile Fiction juv AIN Beth
Location  Bethel Park Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  juv AIN Beth
 
 
Carnegie Library of McKeesport - White Oak Children Fiction J AIN
Location  Carnegie Library of McKeesport - White Oak
 
Collection  Children Fiction
 
Call Number  J AIN
 
 
Community Library of Castle Shannon Juvenile Fiction J Fic Ain
Location  Community Library of Castle Shannon
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Call Number  J Fic Ain
 
 
Cooper-Siegel Community Library Step Up Books j FIC AIN STEPUP
Location  Cooper-Siegel Community Library
 
Collection  Step Up Books
 
Call Number  j FIC AIN STEPUP
 
 
Green Tree Public Library Children's JF AIN
Location  Green Tree Public Library
 
Collection  Children's
 
Call Number  JF AIN
 
 
Northland Public Library Children's Paperbacks P/J AIN
Location  Northland Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Paperbacks
 
Call Number  P/J AIN
 
 
Pleasant Hills Public Library Juvenile Juv Fic Ain
Location  Pleasant Hills Public Library
 
Collection  Juvenile
 
Call Number  Juv Fic Ain
 
 
Plum Community Library Juvenile Paperback J PBK AIN
Location  Plum Community Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Paperback
 
Call Number  J PBK AIN
 
 
Shaler North Hills Library Juvenile Step Up j STEP-UP AIN
Location  Shaler North Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Step Up
 
Call Number  j STEP-UP AIN
 
 
 
Unavailable (2)
Location Collection Status
Mt. Lebanon Public Library Children's Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Mt. Lebanon Public Library
 
Collection  Children's Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Penn Hills Library Juvenile Fiction CHECKED OUT
Location  Penn Hills Library
 
Collection  Juvenile Fiction
 
Status  CHECKED OUT
 
 
Summary
Lights! Camera! Action! A new chapter book star is on the rise!Things to Know About Meby Jules Bloom1. I am a scrambled-eggs-and-chocolate-milk type person. 2. I have an audition for a TV commercial (which would be great if I were a tall-icy-drink type person.)3. I am in between best friends right now.4. I am worried that the audition will be a disaster. (See #1 and #3!) Jules doesn't want to ruin THE OPPORTUNITY OF A LIFETIME, and she's willing to turn to anyone for help--even her know-it-all ex-best friend! If only that lovely new girl in class would turn out to be the new best friend of her dreams, maybe, just maybe, Jules will be ready for her close-up....
Published Reviews
Booklist Review: "Second-grader Jules lives in a NYC apartment with her parents and little brother, Big Henry. She already knows life can take funny turns her best friend, Charlotte, has dumped her. Then things change again: (1) A new girl from England, Elinor, joins the class and has best-friend potential; (2) Jules is spotted by a talent agent and asked to audition for a commercial. (Note: Jules likes to make numbered lists, which appear in hand-lettering throughout the book.) But this bubble of excitement deflates when Jules learns the product she might be promoting is orange mouthwash. And anything orange-tasting makes her throw up. Even for a sophisticated New Yorker, Jules seems several years older than seven, and whether somewhat-older kids will want to read down is always a question. Still, Jules is a bouncy-enough heroine, and readers will respond to both the friendship issues always in play as well as the possibility of stardom on the horizon. And the horizon, of course, is the upcoming sequel. Illustrations not seen.--Cooper, Ilene Copyright 2010 Booklist"
From Booklist, Copyright (c) American Library Association. Used with permission.
Publisher's Weekly Review: "Vivacious Jules Bloom, with her singular wardrobe and all-around flair for the dramatic, hopes to accomplish a great deal before she turns eight, including finding a new best friend, since she's on the outs with her former bestie, Charlotte. When a casting director invites Jules to audition for a mouthwash commercial, Jules throws herself into preparing for the perfect audition. Setbacks arise-the flavor of the mouthwash, orange, is loathsome to Jules ("Orange anything reminds me of throw up, partly because I threw up in a taxicab after eating... orange sherbet")-and Charlotte keeps interfering with Jules's efforts to befriend Elinor, the new girl from London. Ain (The Revolution of Sabine) gives Jules a truly funny narrative voice; her personality, misunderstandings, and tendency to overthink things are the driving force behind the story, though Jules's relationship with her parents and brother is also a standout. Fans of Judy Moody, Clementine, and other iconoclastic heroines will love getting to know Jules and look forward to the next book in this planned series. Final art not seen by PW. Ages 7-10. Agent: Jill Grinberg, Jill Grinberg Literary Management. (Mar.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved."
(c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved
Additional Information
Subjects Acting -- Auditions -- Juvenile fiction.
Friendship -- Juvenile fiction.
Elementary schools -- Juvenile fiction.
Acting -- Fiction.
Auditions -- Fiction.
Friendship -- Fiction.
Elementary schools -- Fiction.
Schools -- Fiction.
Publisher New York, N.Y. :Scholastic Press,2013
Contributors Higgins, Anne Keenan.
Language English
Description 145 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm
ISBN 9780545443524
0545443520
9780545443531
Other Classic View